• The VOIDRUNNER'S CODEX is LIVE! Explore new worlds, fight oppressive empires, fend off fearsome aliens, and wield deadly psionics with this comprehensive boxed set expansion for 5E and A5E!

Just thought I would share this long story with everyone.

King Nate

First Post
I've been playing D&D for many many years now and recently got married. My wife had no idea that I played D&D. I never felt the need to tell her before we got married. However she started asking me many questions on this "hobby" that I spend so much time with.

Past experiences proved to me that the mere mention of the name Dungeons and Dragons or Roleplaying Game brings instant stereotypes and preconceptions to that person's mind that you can't change for anything.

I didn't want to have this be the first black cloud on my new marriage. I quickly thought up an alterative that goes something like this.

"What I participate in would be called something like a group storytelling sessions. Everyone gets together, one person creates a story and the other people are the main characters in that story. Each person's actions affect the story. Now there are rules to this group storytelling that everyone has to follow to determine the random elements that come up in the story."

I then broke out my dicebag. She laughed at the dice when I displayed them. I then introduced each one to her and had her roll. To my surprise, she rolled either the highest number or second highest number on all the dice except the d20 where she rolled a 1.

When she said that it was interesting and wanted to join the group storytelling, I was shocked. After thinking about it really hard, I broke out the Player's Handbook. To my surprise she had never heard of the game Dungeons and Dragons (I thought everyone at least knows of the game). When went through the process of creating her a character [Eldarin (because they are look beautiful) Ranger (because she wants to use bows and arrows to stay away from the bad guys)].