Knightfall
World of Kulan DM
Yes, the square is not supposed to be counted as threatened when withdrawing, but it feels broken to me that he can still leave that square, while it costs him two squares of movement, and there is no impact at all. Yes, his movement is reduced until he clears the spell's area, but it still feels broken to me.From what I’ve read, the square you’re in is no longer threatened. So, unless he moves into a square that is threatened by someone else, he should be able to withdraw.
it depends if you think the ‘square’ is ‘two squares’ because of difficult terrain. I just think of squares as squares. I think that, if you withdraw, you are safe from the actual squares.
Of course, there are so many things about D&D, in general, that are broken when it comes to combat. And not just 3rd edition. Heh.
So, for now, the squares count as two squares (three for diagonals [that I looked up]), but I'm still going to let him withdraw without delaying, and he does not have to worry about an AoO from the vampire.
(I don't like it, and I might need to come up with a house rule in the future.)