LG vs. CE: Lawful Good is Victorious!

Easy?! Oh no. Oh no, no, no.

Lady Mariangela flies over to 30n35e40z, hovering as if born on the wind. She casts a second spell and a tiny circle appears in the air near Howlie. Powerless to react, Howlie sees the circle grow larger and larger, forming into a vertical disc almost 20ft tall. The disc swirls in majestic colors and a picturesque landscape slowly forms within the disc, as if it were a mirror to the Seven Heavens itself.

From out of the disc steps . . . TBD. ;)

Mod Q: [sblock] Can LM summon a tulani eladrin? I'm sure a knowledge check will be successful, but I'm unsure if there's an alignment restriction. If not a tulani, then how about a very old radiant draong or a planetar? And, I might as well as ask now, but is there a limit to the number of "assistants" called via gate? How long will they last, 1R/L or can I get them to stick around longer than that? How many of each type can I bring in?

In case you haven't guessed, this is gonna get really complicated really quick. To warn you in advance, the plan will be to bring in many allies and buff up a whole bunch, keeping the unwitting Howlie stunned and injured (to avoid the draw). Once preparations are reasonably complete, Howlie will be mercifully finishes off (with thanks) and the complete and utter ass-kicking of CE can commence. Oh boy, this is gonna feel good. :] [/sblock]
 

log in or register to remove this ad



Mod A[sblock]OK, OK. Gate does change things a bit. I was not impressed at first because I thought the t'uen-rin's defenses and hit points are quite weak for a CR 20 creature, but if it can hide behind a few other beings, it will be better than I thought.

To avoid the draw, Howlie will have to take damage within five rounds. I doubt that will be a problem.

I do not know what a tulani eladrin is because I do not have BoED. There is no alignment restriction.

A very old radiant dragon and a planetar are eligible because they each have the extraplanar subtype and are the same alignment as Lady Mariangela.

I do not see a problem with gating in multiple creatures of the same kind. Each separate gate can bring in one or more assistants up to the limit of how many you can control, as per the spell. There seems to be no restriction to the number of gate spells you can use at one time. The number of creatures that can be controlled is not limited with multiple gate spells, except for the limit each separate gate spell imposes.

As far as how long the control lasts, 1 round/level is a definite thing, but there could be a precedent for a longer term of service. Did Gansk allow some sort of deal when the Chaotic Neutral construct called in a dragon to help out, or was there a limit to the number of rounds? It is entirely possible that the opportunity to wipe out Chaotic Evil creatures is enough incentive to stick around longer than 1 round/level.

To keep from having to go back and forth, I am including the following from TBoAA rules:

Calling Creatures: Spells such as gate or planar ally that can call creatures to the arena that are not on a list (like the summoning spells) are subject to the knowledge restrictions specified for alter self/polymorph/shapechange. No creatures above CR 20 can be called into the arena.

Polymorph - Monsters that can alter self, polymorph, or shapechange are limited to the following choices:

1) Any monster of its type or subtype that also has the same alignment.
2) Any monster that it knows about due to a knowledge skill. (Propose a candidate and I will tell you if the monster knows enough to polymorph into it.)
3) Any monster it observes fighting in the arena.[/sblock]Well, if Ugulu is going to read your spoiler, Infiniti, he might as well read mine, as well. :eek:
 

Excellent. I found that passage after a search through the Shearing Pen, but I still wasn't positive about the alignment with respect to Gate. Please give me a knowledge check for the very old radiant dragon as I think one is needed, is it not? Lady Mariangela's skills are high enough to make the other creature's automatic. Once that is done, I'll post a long and detailed plan.
 

No knowledge check is necessary because a very old radiant dragon is the same subtype and alignment as Lady Mariangela. I should have made that more clear.

Oh, boy, a long and detailed plan. I will probably miss it, and I do not know if I am happy or sad about that. :) Gansk, I hope you have fun with this. Maybe you should take another few days off to figure out the plan.

Infiniti[sblock]I will rule that a creature of a different alignment would definitely not stay longer than 1 round/level.[/sblock]
 
Last edited:

PJSlavner said:
No knowledge check is necessary because a very old radiant dragon is the same subtype and alignment as Lady Mariangela. I should have made that more clear.
Ah? Lady Mariangela is not a dragon, but I assumed the rule really meant type and subtype, not or. Working on a plan, trying not to incorporate metagame knowledge . . .
 

I think Gansk would have typed and if he meant and. If I am incorrect, Lady Mariangela only knows enough to call in an old radiant dragon, not a very old radiant dragon.
 

I meant or. If the tuen'rin and the dragon are extraplanar and the same alignment, they most probably hang out on the same plane and are best buddies.
 


Remove ads

Top