Lord Ogglebottoms Odd Tasks: All in a Nights Work (DM: DMDanW, Judge: Renau1g)

[SBLOCK=OOC]As Raj was shifting, Thirn didn't had an AoO but an immediate interrupt. That means you didn't had your wisdom bonus (still hit anyway) and you don't stop his movement there (but he was shifting 1 square as part of his attack I think, so it would have changed nothing).

But I thought it would be a good thing to raise the point before a mistake was done.

I will hold my action for the moment, I'll wait for Gellan and Zharne action. I want to go after Raj, but Zharne might down him, or Gellan might down Wendel, so I wouldn't have to get an AoO. If both are down, I'll finish the dog.[/SBLOCK]
 

log in or register to remove this ad

[SBLOCK=OOC]As Raj was shifting, Thirn didn't had an AoO but an immediate interrupt. That means you didn't had your wisdom bonus (still hit anyway) and you don't stop his movement there (but he was shifting 1 square as part of his attack I think, so it would have changed nothing).
[/SBLOCK]
[SBLOCK=OOC]Good to know Velmont.
So an attack drawn from shifting using a Combat Challenge is an immediate interrupt, not an opportunity attack, and thus not subject to the bonus from Combat Superiority.
Question: since the Combat Challenge is an immediate interrupt, triggered by the shift, and the ability says it "ends his movement", does the creature still shift that one square (he was interrupted...)?
If so, Raj would lose one square of movement, correct?
[/SBLOCK]
 

[sblock=OOC]
DMDanW

first, you got Zharne HP wrong as he hit a foe that was the target of an astral seal attack before he hit the goblin so he are at 29/31 now

also no OA on Zharne, darned, I hoped at least the dog attack me so it would activate divine sanction and damage himself

and the dog's hp should be 5 less as Zharne did hit with Darting bite on it (and did 5 damage on it)
[/sblock]

Zharne goes for the legs of his fleeing foe, severely hindering the man with his bite, while sounding like a laughing hyena

[sblock=Action Details]

Opperntunity Action:Grasping Claws on Raj(hit ref 22 for 10 non lethal damage, Raj is slowed until the end of MY next turn)

[/sblock]
 

[sblock=Raj]
I probably miss worded it before, but yes, Raj draws an Immediate Interrupt from Thorn due to the mark and the shift, which was an effect of hitting with his attack. Thorn hit, and ended his movement for that action (which was part of his attack which was his standard action). Raj then uses his move action to move which yes, would be 1 square less.

Now that I look at it again, Thorn may now also get an OA since Raj is moving away from him. I am not sure. I know that a character cannot take more than 1 OA against the same target in the same round, but Thorns first attack was not an OA, so I suppose he should also get an OA.

Zharne also gets an OA, so Raj's futur does not look too bright..
[/sblock]

[sblock=Dog]
Ozy, I thought your post stated that darting bite inflicted 10 damage? That is the number I subtracted off the dogs hit points. If your darting bite only inflicted 5, then he should be 5 higher.

Sorry I missed the healing from astral seal.

[/sblock]


[sblock=Final Correction]
OK so I have read the 'Combat Challenge' rules again, and have it straight now.
Raj hits Thorn and shifts away 1 square.
That shifts draws an Immediate interrupt from Thorn.
Thorn hits and damages Raj reducing him to 11 hit points, but does not stop the shift. That feature is due to Combat Superiority which only applies to OA's.
Raj then moves past Zharne and draws an OA.
Zharne hits and damages Raj for 10 damage and slows him, and he stumbles 1 more square to I7 ending his movement. He has 1 hit point remaining.
[/sblock]
 
Last edited:

DMDanW said:
[sblock=Raj]
Now that I look at it again, Thorn may now also get an OA since Raj is moving away from him. I am not sure. I know that a character cannot take more than 1 OA against the same target in the same round, but Thorns first attack was not an OA, so I suppose he should also get an OA.
[/sblock]

[sblock=Possible OA]
In case Thorn does get this OA, here he goes...
Free Opportunity Attack against Raj as he moves, with a bonus +3 due to his Combat Superiority ability.
1d20+10 (vs. AC)=25 -- at hit!
1d10+4 (damage)=10, reducing Raj to 1 HP before he continues to run away from Thorn.
[/sblock]
 

[SBLOCK=OOC]Thorn did not get any AoO on Raj as Raj shift away, and shifting doesn't give an AoO. But it triggers Combat Challenge.

Combat Challenge said:
Effect: Whenever an enemy marked by you is adjacent to you and shifts or makes an attack that does not include you, you can make a melee basic attack against that enemy.

So, combat challenge is not an AoO.

Combat Superiority said:
You gain a bonus to opportunity attacks equal to your Wisdom modifier. An enemy struck by your opportunity attack stops moving, if a move provoked the attack. If it still has actions remaining, it can use them to resume moving.

So Raj movement was never stop.

Hope it makes thing clear now.[/SBLOCK]
 

this was before I used darting bite ->
[SBLOCK=mini update]
At the start of the round bad guy hit points were;
Raj (bald guy): 32
Dog #2: 33
Wendel (beard guy): 31
Halfling: 1
Goblin: 31

Currently (after the last few PC actions) they sit at;
Raj (bald guy): 18 & Bloodied & marked by Thorn
Dog #2: 9 & Bloodied & under Divine Sanction
Wendel (beard guy): 21
Halfling: 1
Goblin: 31

Players left to act this round: Jehad & Minharath & ZHARNE!

[/sblock]

Then my action came up

[sblock=Action Details]
Move Action:move to N9(I move so I will provoke from dog#2 and Raj)
Standard Action: Darting bite on dog#2 and wendell(hit ref 9 & 8 for 7 damage, I will use elven accuracy in the roll for the dog=elven accuracy reroll hit ref 22, as that hits Zharne shifts to J8)(Corrected damage roll darting bite does 5 damage)
Minor Action:N/A
[/sblock]

[sblock=OOC]no I did not say that, I did however roll a D8 when I should have rolled a D10 and I did a reroll with a d10 and wound up with a 1 so only 5 damage with darting bite(however my OA on Raj, did 10 damage)

Also Attacks granted from Combat Challenge does not affect the movement of the enemy targeted in any way[/sblock]
 
Last edited:

[SBLOCK=OOC]Thorn did not get any AoO on Raj as Raj shift away, and shifting doesn't give an AoO. But it triggers Combat Challenge.

So, combat challenge is not an AoO.

So Raj movement was never stop.

Hope it makes thing clear now.[/SBLOCK]

[SBLOCK=OOC]
If that is the case, wouldn't this be the sequence of events:
Raj shifts with his attack. The shift triggers Combat Challenge as an immediate interrupt (giving a melee basic attack, which hit).
Then, Raj takes a move action to run away. This does trigger an OA. Thorn's Combat Superiority gives him a +3 AND ends Raj's movement.

Raj spent a standard action to attack (with a shift), then spent a move action, which was stopped by Thorn's OA (with combat superiority). Correct?
[/SBLOCK]
 

[SBLOCK=OOC]Nope, when Raj shift at K7 as part of his standard action, he was too far away for an AoO after that when he start to move.

Reach said:
With a reach weapon, you can attack enemies that are 2 squares away from you as well as adjacent enemies, with no attack penalty. You can still make opportunity attacks only against adjacent enemies. Likewise, you can flank only an adjacent enemy.
[/SBLOCK]
 

[sblock=All clear now]
OK I missed Zharnes revised damage. The dog should be at 4 hit points.
I revised my post above, but here it is again;

OK so I have read the 'Combat Challenge' rules again, and have it straight now.
Raj hits Thorn and shifts away 1 square.
That shifts draws an Immediate interrupt from Thorn.
Thorn hits and damages Raj reducing him to 11 hit points, but does not stop the shift. That feature is due to Combat Superiority which only applies to OA's.
Raj then moves past Zharne and draws an OA.
Zharne hits and damages Raj for 10 damage and slows him, and he stumbles 1 more square to I7 ending his movement. He has 1 hit point remaining.

Current status is;
Gellan – HP: 27/27; HS: 7/9; AP: 1
Gloom – HP: 28/38; HS: 11/11; AP 1 – Regeneration 2 till end of turn.
Jehad – HP: 19/32; HS: 9/9; AP 1
Minharath – HP: 25/25; HS: 8/8; AP 1
Thorn – HP: 11/29; HS: 10/11; AP 1 - acted this turn (regained 7 hit points from healing surge) & regeneration 2 at start of turn while bloodied.
Zharne – HP: 29/31; HS: 8/8; AP 1

Wendel – HP: 11; AC:16 F:12 R:14 W:12; - all defenses -4 till end of Minharaths turn. Marked by Thorn.
Raj - HP: 1; AC:16 F:12 R:14 W:12; - Bloodied & Slowed

Guard Dog 1 – HP: -12; AC: 16 F:14 R:13 W:13; Downed (non-lethal)
Guard Dog 2 – HP: 4; AC: 16 F:14 R:13 W:13; - Bloodied & under Divine Sanction
Human 1 – HP: -12; AC: 15 F:13 R:11 W:11; Downed (non-lethal)
Halfling 1 - HP: -6; AC:16 F:12 R:14 W:14; Downed (non-lethal)
Halfling 2 - HP: 1; AC:16 F:12 R:14 W:14;
Goblin 1 - HP: -8; AC:16 F:12 R:14 W:11; Dead
Goblin 3 - HP: 31; AC:16 F:12 R:14 W:11;
Goblin 2 - HP: -11; AC:16 F:12 R:14 W:11; Downed (non-lethal)


I am looking into a better way to track actions and damage and hit points and stuff for the next encounter. The method I used for this fight (my first pbp Combat encounter as a DM) did not work out as well as I had hoped. I am sorry for the mix ups.

[/sblock]
 

Remove ads

Top