Lycanthropes, Polymorph, Constitution, and hit points

Hypersmurf

Moderatarrrrh...
Let's assume for the moment that the Sage is right about a change in Con from Polymorph being able to modify one's hit points.

1. A creature with the Shapechanger subtype can revert to its natural form when Polymorphed. So if the human werebear is polymorphed into a troll, and reverts to his natural form... is the spell expired? Is it still in effect (ie he still radiates Transmutation magic for the duration of the spell), but "inaccessible"? Can he shift back to troll form at will?

2. In human form, our sample werebear has a Con of 12 (+1 modifier). In werebear form, he has a Con of 20 (+5 modifier), since the werebear Con bonus is +8. Thus, his hit points, regardless of form, are 1d8+1 (one humanoid hit die with a +1 modifer) plus 6d8+30 (six animal hit dice with a +5 modifier).

If he is in human form, and polymorphed into an Orc (Con 15, +2 modifier), his werebear form Constitution rises to 23 (+6 modifier). Presumably, his hit points become 1d8+2 plus 6d8+36. But if he actually takes on his hybrid or animal forms, depending on the answer to 1 above - if the spell expires, presumably his Con drops back to normal, with the consequent drop in hit points?

Now, if he is in animal form, and polymorphed into an Orc, it is surely his animal form Constitution that becomes 15. What happens to his hit points?

Do we assume that the +8 bonus is incorporated into the 15, with the result that his human form Con is now 7? Is the bonus irrelevant while his animal form is actually an orc, so that his human Con remains 12?

-Hyp.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Huh. And on the topic:

The subject’s creature type and subtype (if any) change to match the new form.

Incorporeal or gaseous creatures are immune to being polymorphed, and a creature with the shapechanger subtype can revert to its natural form as a standard action.

By my reading, if you Polymorph an Aranea (Medium Magical Beast [Shapechanger]) into a Goblin (Small Humanoid [Goblinoid])... it is no longer a creature with the shapechanger subtype, so it can't revert to its natural form.

On the other hand, if you Polymorph a Goblin into an Aranea, it is now a creature with the shapechanger subtype, and can turn back into a Goblin whenever it feels like it...

Hooray for type changes! :)

-Hyp.
 
Last edited:

1. A creature with the Shapechanger subtype can revert to its natural form when Polymorphed. So if the human werebear is polymorphed into a troll, and reverts to his natural form... is the spell expired? Is it still in effect (ie he still radiates Transmutation magic for the duration of the spell), but "inaccessible"? Can he shift back to troll form at will?

He can't actually turn back - once he assumes his original form he has no way to reassume his non-original form.

2. In human form, our sample werebear has a Con of 12 (+1 modifier). In werebear form, he has a Con of 20 (+5 modifier), since the werebear Con bonus is +8. Thus, his hit points, regardless of form, are 1d8+1 (one humanoid hit die with a +1 modifer) plus 6d8+30 (six animal hit dice with a +5 modifier).

I think you only change the hit points of the hit dice of the form which it was in when it changed. After all, the other Constitution score hasn't changed.

Alternately, you could change the base stats, and then further modify the animal form stats accordingly - but the Lycanthropy rules don't work well, and the new Polymorph rules don't work at all - so I can't tell which way it is "supposed to work".

By my reading, if you Polymorph an Aranea (Medium Magical Beast [Shapechanger]) into a Goblin (Small Humanoid [Goblinoid])... it is no longer a creature with the shapechanger subtype, so it can't revert to its natural form.

Precisely. Which is one more way that this new version is horribly written.

Hooray for type changes!

yay.

-Frank
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top