Mirror Image vs. Cleave

DocMoriartty said:
Correct me if I am wrong but this is a GAME right? Also correct me if this is wrong but its supposed to be a ligt hearted enjoyable experience for all right?

I have never seen a rules lawyer support either of these things.
Come on, Doc.

You've been on these boards awhile. You should know better than to post this kind of rant. Heck, it's not as if you've been on one side of this thread for awhile and are frustrated to find yourself painted into a corner.

If you are not having fun with this thread, don't post. ....and while your at it, consider this: It might be, just maybe, that the people that are posting here are having fun doing so. You might even say they're having a "ligt hearted enjoyable experience". :D
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad



First of all I want to say thank you to all of those involved in this discussion for drawing me in and entertaining my brain

My offerings on Cleave-MI RAW

PHB 173 Illusion:Figment: A figment creates a false sensation.

You believe that the figment of the caster is the caster and begin your attack phase.

If your attack is succesful, the image is destroyed. No damage is rolled.
The strike itself is enough to drop the images hp's to zero or less in that a struck image ceases to exist, and thus has no hp.

Now, the attacking character believes he has destroyed (or dropped) a creature. There is no saving throw for MI, so unless the attaker has some way of ignoring the spell all together, he believes.

Now we get into opinion. It is the nature of D&D that on occasion a character may find themselves attacking opponents that are no more solid than wisps of smoke. In that situation, where there is no question as to whether or not the opponets are creatures, the attacker may without question apply the cleave feat should other opponents be within reach. Also, I understand cleave not to be some thru attack, like cleaving thru a door, or thru one enemy into another, but a redirection of energy. *Example* Attacked enemy has fallen, the energy, thought, and strength I had to apply to defending against that creature is no longer needed..Those energies, by virtue of this feat, can be quickly redirected against another opponent within reach.

As for cleaving with a reach weapon. Attacker drops an opponent 10 feet away and quickly redirects that energy against another opponent in reach by spinning the *insert reach weapon here* by it's middle, at a angle, and shifting grip. These qualities of quickly shifting focus with long weapons are commonly showcased in martial arts films.

Now...we have a figment which the attacker believes to be a creature, that disappears when struck, which is, I am assuming here, analagous to being droppped. It has in all ways acted as a creature *might* within the rules. Does the DM then stop him and say " Your *character here* senses that what you have destroyed was only a figment?" No he does not, the spell is still active, and there is no saving throw. So even after having interacted with the figment, he still believes it to be a creature, and would act accordingly. And if in that situation, attempting to attack another creature that may or may not be a figment is a rational action, AND that character has the cleve feat, I believe that by virtue of overwhelming evidence he can, and indeed should, proceed.

I must agree that the word creature in the Cleave description negates all I have said here. But I have attempted to show other evidence from other sources within the RAW that show a contradicting view. In a situation where there is a contradiction, the errata, and I imagine, the FAQ apply. We all know there opinion on the matter.

Now... Magic Missle. The caster believes he is targeting a creature. IF the spell does not immediately fail, due to improper targeting, the missle could indeed strike a target, destroying it. Magic Missle does no damage to objects, but it does strike, and striking does destroy an image. Now... there is adjudication needed to here. Does the magic sense what it can and cannot target? Or is the casters understanding of the situation enough to get the spell cast, and leave it up to the nature of the magic as to whether it's succesful or not.

Golems are immune to charm. But that does not stop a foolish caster from trying it.

Anyway, I look forward to hearing your responses to my thoughts when you have time, and mind you, I am not trying to stick to my guns here, I am trying to add to a argument I believe has merit.
 

baudbard said:
Now...we have a figment which the attacker believes to be a creature, that disappears when struck, which is, I am assuming here, analagous to being droppped. It has in all ways acted as a creature *might* within the rules. Does the DM then stop him and say " Your *character here* senses that what you have destroyed was only a figment?" No he does not, the spell is still active, and there is no saving throw.

This is stretching a "rationale" to explain a POV.

Using your rational approach, are you telling me that the characters in your game are accustomed to opponents a) having no resistance when struck and b) disappearing when struck?

I suspect not. Figments do not have many of the properties of creatures. They have no "touch component" to them and creatures tend to not disappear when struck (except possibly summoned creatures).
 

KarinsDad said:
Your quote here does not state that they "only attack creatures". It effectively states that they "only damage creatures".

Right. It doesn't state that they attack anything at all.

And even if you do not allow the swarm to auto-destroy all of the images, you should either allow it to auto-hit the caster (like all other creatures in the area of a swarm)...

Oh, absolutely. As far as I can see, a swarm attack behaves like a spell with Area: Creatures in a 10'x10' square.

The caster takes damage, and the figments react, but aren't destroyed.

-Hyp.
 

Hypersmurf said:
Oh, absolutely. As far as I can see, a swarm attack behaves like a spell with Area: Creatures in a 10'x10' square.

The caster takes damage, and the figments react, but aren't destroyed.

"like a spell with Area:"?

But, since a swarm is a creature and not a spell, does Mirror Image actually prevent the images from getting attacked? What is the conclusion?
 

KarinsDad said:
"like a spell with Area:"?

But, since a swarm is a creature and not a spell, does Mirror Image actually prevent the images from getting attacked? What is the conclusion?

Well, there is no attack roll involved when a swarm damages you, much like there is no attack roll with an area spell.

Since the Swarm type was introduced after the spell was originally written, I don't think the spell was updated to take into account that attack form. So it's a DM call.
 

KarinsDad said:
"like a spell with Area:"?

No, like a spell with the Area entry 'Creatures in a 10'x10' square'.

The swarm specifically doesn't make melee attacks; it's more like an area attack form than anything else.

-Hyp.
 

KarinsDad said:
a) having no resistance when struck and b) disappearing when struck?


You mean like incorperal(sp?) undead?? so by your thinking if I kill a shadow with no resistance and it disapears when I kill it I dont get a cleave.

By using the argument that it's not blowthrough and is a reaction to dropping something:
A fighter works for weeks and months to "react" to when an opponent isn't there any more, so he can cleave. so what your saying is that if a fighter that trained for weeks or months to get the skill to do this he is suddenly unable to react to something just vanishing?? look at it from the CHARACTERS POV(not the players). I'm a fighter I trained for months to be able to do this, and I have made it a reaction that comes without thought. So when an opponent drops(ie vanishes, as in the case of a shadow or a figment), I react and direct my energy and attention to the next closest target. I dont think of it as I was trying to hit a creature, but what I hit was a figment, and I cant cleave off of a figment, my REACTION would be the same reguardless of what I actually struck. Because, if your putting that much power behind a swing that you unbalance yourself, then your a pisspoor fighter.
 

Remove ads

Top