RigaMortus2
First Post
If you had a swarm of invisible bats, and they enter a character's square and deal damage to that character, does the invisibility wear off from that bat swarm?
Dryfus said:So, if I deal enough damage to make it drop, which, accordig to the spell description is just if an attack strikes. Hence I have done enough damage to make the image drop .
Okay, so images are opponents, but they are not creatures. So, you can target images with Whirlwind Attack, but you can't Cleave off them. By the same argument, a spectral hand and a Bigby's clenched fist are opponents, but not creatures, so you can target them with Whirlwind Attack, but you can't Cleave off them, either. On the other hand, a quasi-real fiendish dire rat summoned with shadow conjuration is both an opponent and a creature, so you can target it with Whirlwind Attack and Cleave off it.KarinsDad said:The images are an opponent.
Yeah, that'll fix the problem, but you'll also need Creature (Spell effect) or you'll have some idiot (me) asking about whether you should be able to Cleave off a spectral hand and a Bigby's clenched fist.Liquidsabre said:Classify images as: Creature (Figment)
This, I can agree with.KarinsDad said:Maybe they shouldn't have put the word creatures into the Cleave feat.
RigaMortus2 said:No, all you have to do to make an image disappear is to strike it, regardless if you do damage to it or not. I could cast Cure Light Wounds spell and make a melee touch attack, and if I hit an image it will disappear. I did no damage to it, but I did strike it.
KarinsDad said:Yup. Magic does weird things to feats.
And your point?
Maybe they shouldn't have put the word creatures into the Cleave feat.
DocMoriartty said:My whole point was how your being a rules lawyer and in the most horrible sort of way.
KarinsDad said:What is even better yet is that you will not lose the Cure Light Wounds spell if you select an image because the image was not a creature and will not trigger the spell. The downside is that if you select the caster, you heal him.
Course, a grapple might work just as well (since you do not have to cast a spell), unless of course you actually target the caster, he AoOs you for damage, and the grapple fails.
RigaMortus2 said:You say that like it's a BAD thing?Correct me if I am wrong, but this IS the RULES forum, right?
DocMoriartty said:My point? You just made it perfectly. My whole point was how your being a rules lawyer and in the most horrible sort of way.
It is rather sad. It's a game not a chance to screw a player or the DM to your own personal glee.