Modeling the Duel as a Skill Challenge

Lord Pendragon

First Post
I'm considering starting up a campaign soon in which I'd like duels between individual warriors to play a significant roll. Having kept up with the running commentary on PCat's game, I am now thinking perhaps a skill challenge might be a fun way to run duels, so that the other members of the party can remain involved. However, I am still relatively new to 4e, so I am asking for help tweaking the idea so it works as well in practice as in theory. :p

Here's what I've come up with so far:
Skill challenge: Duel! (6 successes before 3 failures)

Primary skills (duelist only):
Any attack power (DC 15) – Strike your opponent!
Acrobatics (DC 15) – Trip up your opponent! (Usable only once, counts as 2 successes)
Endurance (DC 10) – Keep fighting!

Secondary skills:
Intimidate (DC 15) – Rattle the enemy (enemy receives a -2 to next attack)
Perception (DC 10) – Spot a weakness in the enemy’s fighting style (duelist gains +2 to next attack/skill roll)
Insight (DC 10) – Notice weakness in the enemy’s fighting style (duelist gains +2 to AC versus next attack)
Bluff (DC 15) – Distract the enemy with insults (enemy receives a -2 to next attack)
In this case, only the duelist would be able to grant successes toward the skill challenge, but the other party members would be able to contribute to that success. There's also a physical danger involved, since while the duelist's attacks aren't doing hit point damage, his foe's attacks are.

I'm not positive that's the best way to go about it. But I'm thinking if I allowed the duelist's damage to count towards his foe's hit points, the duelist would merely focus on that. This way he *can* attack, but he can also use other skills to generate successes and describe some fun stunts.

Thoughts?

Neubert

First Post
Is the duels to first blood, to the death or something else?