Monk Grapple AoO

Coredump

Explorer
I am pretty sure I handled this okay, but want to check.

A lion was running to attack the rogue, and ran past the Monk.
This triggers an AoO.
The monk grapples the lion, this stops the lion.
The lion is not grappled, but can attack the monk.
(At least until the next round when the damned "how-can-I-screw-up-coredumps-plans" monk also pins the lion.

(when pinned, the lion can only try and get out, right?)
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Does the monk have improved grapple? If not, the monk's grapple attempt on the AoO itself provokes an AoO* and if the lion deals damage, the monk's grapple attempt fails. But, if the monk was not damaged and his grapple check succeeds (not easy against a lion), then he moves into the lion's square, the lion stops, and both are considered grappled. Because the lion was making a charge attack (my assumption, admittedly, based on your use of the word 'run') he had already started a full round action and therefore cannot take another action. If the lion were merely moving to the rogue, then he may have still had a standard action remaining; which he could use to escape or damage the monk.

* Note that some people rule that improved grapple is not necessary if you have improved unarmed strike. I.e. IUS means that you don't provoke an AoO though you don't get the +4 bonus.
 

The monk does have improved grapple.
The lion was making a move and attack, and that is why I gave him his one attack.

The monk was enlarged, and had improved grapple, and really kinda messed up the entire scenario by grappling a list of opponents... but it worked, and those pesky player characters got away with a ton o' loot.
 

Infiniti2000 said:
But, if the monk was not damaged and his grapple check succeeds (not easy against a lion), then he moves into the lion's square, the lion stops, and both are considered grappled.

After he makes the melee touch attack to grab the target, the next step in starting a grapple is Step 3: Hold. "Make an opposed grapple check as a free action..."

Now, since the monk is starting the grapple as an AoO, it's not his turn...

-Hyp.
 

Hypersmurf said:
After he makes the melee touch attack to grab the target, the next step in starting a grapple is Step 3: Hold. "Make an opposed grapple check as a free action..."

Now, since the monk is starting the grapple as an AoO, it's not his turn...
There's no good reason to assume the monk is limited to making the opposed grapple check only on his turn.
 

Peter Gibbons said:
There's no good reason to assume the monk is limited to making the opposed grapple check only on his turn.

You can only take actions on your turn, and making the grapple check is a free action.

Which is yet another example of why insisting on overly narrow RAW only interpretations in all situations is usually a mistake, as it leads to silly situations like this.
 

Caliban said:
You can only take actions on your turn, and making the grapple check is a free action.
Untrue. There are examples of free actions that can be taken when it's not your turn in the PHB: speaking, feather fall, and possibly more. It is no stretch at all to assume that the free action required to effectively employ a grapple can be taken as part and parcel of the out-of-turn attack action granted by the AoO.

Caliban said:
Which is yet another example of why insisting on overly narrow RAW only interpretations in all situations is usually a mistake, as it leads to silly situations like this.
No argument there!
 


Peter Gibbons said:
Untrue. There are examples of free actions that can be taken when it's not your turn in the PHB: speaking, feather fall, and possibly more.

And they're labelled as such.

A less-fuzzy example is the wolf/dog Trip special attack:

A wolf that hits with a bite attack can attempt to trip the opponent (+1 check modifier) as a free action without making a touch attack or provoking an attack of opportunity.

If you provoke an AoO, I can't hit you with my dagger, then cast a Quickened Magic Missile. It's not my turn, and free actions are taken during your turn, and an AoO is a single melee attack. The AoO doesn't allow me to work an extra free action in there.

Likewise, if you provoke an AoO, I can't drop my dagger, quickdraw my greatsword, and hit you with it.

Should a wolf, after making his single melee attack, be able to take an extra free action outside of his own turn to trip you... when the Trip text makes no provision for the free action to be available outside the normal turn sequence?

-Hyp.
 

Infiniti2000 said:
Does the monk have improved grapple? If not, the monk's grapple attempt on the AoO itself provokes an AoO*

According to Coredump:

Coredump said:
A lion was running to attack the rogue, and ran past the Monk.

If the lion was running, he loses his Dex. And in doing so, loses the ability to make an AoO himself.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top