Monkey grip + Power attack ??

Wouldn't it be cool to take Monkey Grip and Wield Oversized Weapon (an epic feat, I think).

Then you could create Final Fantasy-insane-big-sword-dudes with ease !

Then you could spend an hour wondering why !
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Hypersmurf said:



a. When using a two-handed weapon.
b. When using a one-handed weapon with two hands.


I think they meant to say:

a. When using a two-handed weapon with two hands.
b. When using a one-handed weapon with two hands.

But they shortened the a. part, because it sounds really stupid that way.

Old editions had more fluff in their description, with might have caused more confusion because the fluff was not rules-centric, but Power Attack could have used some fluff here. Something like, 'Because you can throw even more strength into the blow using two hands rather than one .......'

I think that would have been the spirit of the rule.

Or maybe:

c. When using any weapon (one handed, two handed, three handed, four handed, whatever) with more than one hand.
 

Usurpator said:
c. When using any weapon (one handed, two handed, three handed, four handed, whatever) with more than one hand.
I remember the three handed greatsword (wielded with two hands and one foot by humans). Laugh damage 1d8 for anyone close enough to watch.
 

Hypersmurf said:
While mounted, you may use a lance "in one hand". Note that it's still a two-handed weapon... it doesn't say "when mounted, treat a lance as a one-handed weapon". So even though you're using it in one hand, as a two-handed weapon, it's eligible for double PA.

A lance also does double damage while mounted. So should all two-handed weapons held in one hand, while mounted, inflict double damage?

Also, a staff is a two-handed weapon. So you'd gain 2 for 1 with both sides if this were true. Even though you fight 'as if it were a one hand and a light weapon', it's still considered a two-handed weapon.
 

A lance also does double damage while mounted. So should all two-handed weapons held in one hand, while mounted, inflict double damage?

!? No, that's a special rule for the lance.

The rule for Power Attack is "any two-handed weapon". The rule for lances is "a lance".

Also, a staff is a two-handed weapon. So you'd gain 2 for 1 with both sides if this were true. Even though you fight 'as if it were a one hand and a light weapon', it's still considered a two-handed weapon.

While you're using it as a double weapon, you don't consider it a two-handed weapon. You consider it a one-handed weapon and a light weapon.

There's nothing about that in the description of the lance. It is not stated anywhere that it should be considered a one-handed weapon when wielded in one hand, just as a longsword wielded with two hands is still a one-handed weapon for effects (Disarm, for example) that rely on weapon size. If you try to Disarm the mounted knight, he gets a +4 bonus for wielding a two-handed weapon, even though he's wielding it in one hand.

-Hyp.
 

From a pure wording point of view it seems that you get the 2/1 bonus.
Now, I happen not to play the rule lawyer (Most of the time I'm the DM anyway) but looks if it make sense and is overpowerfull.

For me the first condition is met: especially due to the fact that power attack don't work with light weapons->
You gain the 2/1 bonus when you use 2 hand on a weapon heavy enough as you can put more strength into it.
You also gain the bonus if the weapon if heavy enough, hovever you use it, as you can use your strength more efficiently (opposite of why you can't power attack with light weapon).

The second condition also applies: the monkey grip feat give you a +2 average damage for -2 to hit, basically not worth it as power attack already does that (yes I know with the big weapon you gain bonus to disarm...). So this new bonus seems fine and not too powerfull

And most important: I love the image of a barbarian holding an axe the size of the party's mage in one hand ;)
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top