I knew this. But let me take a moment to mourn my (NPC) Psychic Warrior/Paladin (of Torm) who wielded Lance and Large Shield on foot using Improved Shield Bash (DotF version), Combat Reflexes and Stand Still who was slain by 3.5. That he was brave is not in doubt but no mere character can stand up to a rule system and hope to endure. I shall miss him though surely none other will.Artoomis said:Note that in 3.5 a lance is only one-handed when riding. This is a much better implementation of a lance.
Mahali said:You can not move-attack-move while mounted without Ride-By attack.
The horse uses it's movement which you are part of. Basically you pretend your movement is now the mounts speed.
Allowing this would virtually destroy the reason for a feat.
Camarath said:Alas, poor Nestgar! I knew him, Artoomis: a fellow
of infinite pose, of most excellent construction: he hath
borne me into battle a thousand times; and now, how
abhorred in my imagination it is! my gorge rims at
it. Here hung those limbs that I have flexed I know
not how oft. Where be your stratagems now? your
designs? your tricks? your fiendish machinations,
that were wont to set the table on a roar? Not one
now, to mock your own scheming? quite chap-fallen?
Artoomis said:taking one attack only with no other action (giving up your normally allowed move action) and subjecting yourself to an AoO.
LokiDR said:
I don't think this is entirely true. Guiding the horse is a free action with a DC 5 ride check. So you then have a move equivelant action and a standard. Since "Readying is a standard action." you have a move equivelant to use. You can't use it to move, but you could use it to draw a weapon...
P.S. 3.5 terminology has eliminated "move-equivalent action" and replaced it with "move action."...You can ready a standard action, a move action, or a free action...
Move Action: A move action allows you to move your speed or perform an action that takes a similar amount of time. See Table: Actions in Combat.
Ready is a standard action. That leaves a move action. There is no reaons you can't draw a weapon and ready to strike. I don't know where you are getting the notion from. It only takes a standard action to ready, not a full round. It also grants a standard action. Could you explain your position more, I don't understand it.Artoomis said:Ah, but since you "Ready an Action" you have only one action left. So you can get a move action, but only instead of an attack, not in addition to one.
Ah, another pointless terminology change. Not that MEA was the best of terms, but it wasn't so bad that it needed to be changed.Artoomis said:P.S. 3.5 terminology has eliminated "move-equivalent action" and replaced it with "move action."
LokiDR said:
Ready is a standard action. That leaves a move action. There is no reaons you can't draw a weapon and ready to strike. I don't know where you are getting the notion from. It only takes a standard action to ready, not a full round. It also grants a standard action. Could you explain your position more, I don't understand it.
I was right? Well, it was bound to happen sooner or later.Artoomis said:You're right.
I was think of taking a Move Action and a Standard Action both as the response to the triggering action of the Readied Action.
My mistake.
About 6th-10th level a trained war horse is almost expendable (400gp) but has enough HP to be hard to take down in a swipe or two. Then you have fast dismount.Artoomis said:Anyway, the tactic is good, but it will make one's mount a rather high priority target! As it should be. A mounted warrior should be something to be feared, and this helps make it that way.
LokiDR said:Hmm, I wonder who actually uses mounted combat.