Lanefan
Victoria Rules
In 1e 1" was 10' indoors and 10 *yards* (i.e. 30') outdoors.Mercule said:It used to bug me, then I realized that 1E used inches (apparently, you were assumed to bring your tape measure) and 1" = 10'. That is, of course, unless 1" = 1", which was the case for a few spells.
I long since converted all the "inches" to feet (except, of course, for the very few places where they really did mean inches, though I think they always wrote out the word inch(es) when they meant 1/12 of a foot and left the " symbol to mean 10 ft-yds)...it's just easier, and allows for indoor and outdoor measurements to differ by factors other than 3 where they need to differ at all.
Lanefan