ruleslawyer
Registered User
'Cause I feel like causing trouble:
Here's my problem:
The distinction between "different attributes of the same spell" and "same attributes of the base spell" does not appear in any of the above-mentioned feats. Why, therefore, should a Twinned, Maximized fireball NOT produce two maximized fireballs? There is a clear rule stated in the specific case of Empower + Maximize, but not anywhere else. Moreover, the entire Maximize/other feat problem really only seems to apply in the case of two specific feats (Twin and Repeat). Finally, does it really make sense that doubling a spell's effect (via Twin Spell) and doubling the radius of the spell (via Widen), which in many cases equates to "doubling a spell's effect," would be affected differently by Maximize or Empower?
Just musing, but would welcome input.
Patryn of Elvenshae said:The reason that you're confused is because you are taking a specific rule and trying to make it general.
The feats and metamagic rules specifically state that when mixing Maximize and Empower on the same spell they don't affect each other.
That's the only place any such rule is stated. There's nothing else that says, "When applying Widen spell and Enlarge spell, both apply to the base spell separately."
Therefore, they don't. If they did, you'd end up with really, really odd occurences.
For instance, consider a Widened, Maximized Fireball:
Would you say that it does maximum damage in a 20' radius and normal damage in a 20'-40' radius, or does it do maximum damage in a 40' radius?
Since I missed this the first time (and can't find it), I was wondering if we might have a *civil* discussion on the matter (since judging from De Big Rules Monkey's tone, said discussion may have been less than such last time around).Caliban said:Not this again.
I believe you are applying them incorrectly. Those feats are modifying different attributes of the same spell, so they both apply: the damage of the spell is maximized and the radius is Widened.
Twin, Quicken, and Repeat duplicate the base spell. They don't say that they duplicate other metamagic feats, so they don't.
Maximize and Empower modify the same attributes of the base spell, so each one is applied seperately. I believe the same would apply to any other set of feats that modify the same attribute.
We can debate it further, and it will probably end up just like the last time. Probably better not to hijack this thread. If you really want to debate it again, please start a seperate thread.
Here's my problem:
The distinction between "different attributes of the same spell" and "same attributes of the base spell" does not appear in any of the above-mentioned feats. Why, therefore, should a Twinned, Maximized fireball NOT produce two maximized fireballs? There is a clear rule stated in the specific case of Empower + Maximize, but not anywhere else. Moreover, the entire Maximize/other feat problem really only seems to apply in the case of two specific feats (Twin and Repeat). Finally, does it really make sense that doubling a spell's effect (via Twin Spell) and doubling the radius of the spell (via Widen), which in many cases equates to "doubling a spell's effect," would be affected differently by Maximize or Empower?
Just musing, but would welcome input.