Level Up (A5E) Muscle sorcerer/wizard

Khitan

Explorer
Hi all!
I was going through the spell list and I saw a bunch of spells like flex, altered strike and stuff like that that made me seriously think about the possibility to create a "muscle sorcerer" or "muscle wizard". Let's break the fragile spellcaster stereotype!!
Unfortunately, for now, I don't have the time to dig deep and study hard to see if it's actually feasable, so I thouht I would come here and ask^^

Do you think it could be a viable build (aside from the concept, I'm talking machanically). The idea is either a sorc or a wiz that, aside from doing all the usual sorc/wiz stuff, when things get rough becomes a muscular and fit (and obviously shiny and oiled xD) dude who dives into melee and starts punching people.

Blue Orange

Gone to Texas
Big problem I can see is racking up the HP. You could take a few levels of monk I guess.

When I started playing 5e I had the idea that I was going to be a barbarian who took 7 levels of wizard, so I could cast Fire Shield on myself and wade into battle. I then realized the spell only did 2d6 damage on a hit, instead of double the attacker's damage as in 1e/2e. Oops!

In 2e and 3.5 there was the awesome Tenser's Transformation, which turned the wizard into a relatively strong melee combatant for a while.
I'm still in the process of reading the manuals, but it might be fun to create a character around this idea :)

Stalker0

Legend
So I see two styles of this build: One at low levels, one at higher.

At low levels, we have the following:

1) Arcane Muscles: The default, the go to, gives you a reasonable unarmed strike.
2) False Life: Gives you some extra beef, basically the equivalent of a d8 hitdice (maybe even a d10 if you roll well and your very low level).
3) Some kind of armor (through various builds)