Need help finding a rule ...

Pax

Banned
Banned
... I could SWEAR I'd read something about who can/does spend the XP to make an item, when multiple spellcasters are contributing to a single item's creation (in terms of prerequisiteS).

ISTR reading that only the fellow with the actual Item Creation feat even could spend the XP; but I cannot for the life of me find that rule.

EXAMPLE:

Frik and Frak, both 5th-level Wizards, are making a Wand of Fireballs together. You see, Frik has Craft Wand, but he only knows Lightning Bolt; Frak knows Fireball, but he doesn't have Craft Wand.

According to the DMG on page 241, they can work together to make that wand. But ... who spends the XP? Frik, Frak, or some combination of both?

THAT is what I'm trying to find a ruling on -- hopefully an official one. I can't find it in the FAQ, nor any of my books ...
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad

I'm 99% certain that the person with the feat pays the XP cost. I can't find a reference for you at the moment, but I'll keep looking.

Spider

[Edit: Here ya go, from a semi-official site:
Several people can work together to create a magic item if the person with the item creation feat doesn't meet all of the item's prerequisites. For example, 9th-level Mialee could work with 9th-level Jozan to create a scroll of raise dead, even though Mialee doesn't have the spell and Jozan doesn't have the feat. The character with the feat pays the XP cost, but anyone can contribute money to offset the gp cost.
Source: http://www.seankreynolds.com/rpgfiles/misc/magicitemcreation.htm]
 
Last edited:


Thanks, guys. Now I have to see if the GM of the game in question agrees with what you've pointed me at.

Oddly, I still seem to recall some other, official-book-based source (I know I've never read that particular web page before). Hrm. Still can't find it though.

But, the above should go a long way towardshelping. Thanks, again!
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top