D&D 5E New Errata & Advice For D&D Issued

WotC has issued an update to the 'Sage Advice' compilation, including new errata documents and amendments to racial attributes.

Screen Shot 2020-10-02 at 12.13.01 AM.png

"The PDF contains answers to a collection of new questions. To find the latest answers, search for “[New]” in the PDF.

The compendium includes links to new errata documents for Curse of Strahd, Ghosts of Saltmarsh, Storm King’s Thunder, Tomb of Annihilation, and Volo’s Guide to Monsters."

Racial attributes have been altered (thanks to @dave2008 for pointing that out).

Last edited by a moderator:

log in or register to remove this ad


With the Ghosts of Saltmarsh errata, they've changed the sea lion to a CR 5 monstrosity (rather than a CR 1/2 beast) but haven't changed its description, which still suggests that it should just be a normal beast ("These large marine mammals live along coastal regions and around islands at sea").

Interesting also that, while the Curse of Strahd errata includes all the changes to the description of the Vistani, the Tomb of Annihilation errata does not include any of the changes made to the description of Chultans.
Last edited:


Crown-Forester (he/him)
Knew it.

As I've been saying for months, Orc of Eberron and Orc of Wildemount exist only in the minds of Wikia over at D&DB thinking that an errata should be considered a separate ancestry entry.

This is just solidifying evidence that nope, Orc, Triton, and Kobold were errata'd since Volo's. And that's fine.

Don't mind the errata at all, but half the new rulings still drive me nuts.

Which action is used to activate a Spell-Storing Item? Activating a Spell-Storing Item uses the Use an Object action.

Allowing use of Fast Hands is weird.

Can a paladin use Divine Smite when they hit using an unarmed strike? No. Divine Smite requires a melee attack using a weapon. The rules don’t consider unarmed strikes to be weapons.

Are natural weapons considered weapons? Things designated as weapons by the rules, including natural weapons, are indeed weapons. In contrast, unarmed strikes are not weapons. They are something you do with an unarmed part of your body.

I mean, at least it's consistent with the dumbness of this distinction, but at least it closes the terrifying loophole of a Paladin with magic weapon cast on fists, which has dominated play since 2014.

Can I make an attack with one weapon, then draw a second weapon with my other hand and qualify to use two-weapon fighting? To use the two-weapon fighting bonus action (PH, 195), you must have both weapons in hand when you make the first attack. If you’re instead fighting with two or more weapons as part of the Extra Attack feature, the rule for the two-weapon fighting bonus action doesn’t apply. The rule for that bonus action applies only to itself, not to any other use of two or more weapons in the game.

Yeah, here's another useful line to draw. Gotta stop those people abusing Dueling style, I suppose?

When you dismiss the familiar you conjure with the find familiar spell to its pocket dimension, can it take any objects it’s wearing or carrying with it? No, the intent of find familiar is that any objects are left behind when the familiar vanishes. This intent will be reflected in future printings of the Player’s Handbook.

Why does this require a Sage Advice answer? Was this a major problem? Am I insane to think that this is the exact kind of thing that the DM and not WotC should answer?

Misty step doesn’t say the caster can bring worn or carried equipment with them. Are they intended to leave everything, including their clothes, behind? No, the caster’s worn and carried equipment are intended to go with them.

Some teleportation effects do specify that you teleport with your gear; such specification is an example of a rule being needlessly fastidious, since no teleportation effect in the game assumes that you teleport without your clothes, just as the general movement rules don’t assume that you drop everything when you walk.

See, you can be reasonable. I honestly just don't understand.

Visit Our Sponsor

An Advertisement