once and for all, can you wield 2 implements?


log in or register to remove this ad

Multiple magic items that take up different 'slots' should all be able to work at the same time. However, two items using the same slot [implement] is the question at the moment.

'Implement' isn't an item slot.

Item slots are Arms, Feet, Hands, Neck, Head, Waist, and Ring (x2).

-Hyp.
 

Dualwielding pact blades is different though, one would be dual wielding them as weapons, but could only wield one as an implement. However, it's listed as a weapon that can act as an implement, allowing it to apply it's property as a weapon twice [since you would get the benefit of both wielded weapons].

I don't believe it to be different at all. First of all it sets a precedent for two passive functionalities from the same item type. Second of all if you have two rods you are effectively wielding both of them since you could bring either of them to bear. Thirdly I can't find any mention of any kind of slot limitation for implements. Every other item clearly delineates the number than can be used with the exceptions of armour (which is implied), weapons and implements (neither of which is implied). Am I missing something, because as far as I can tell the two pactblade situation is the closest fit.

Besides, why kick what is generally considered the weakest class in the junk again while all the melee folk are running around with their frost weapons.
 

As to why: The "instant kill all minions in sight" trick that started this thread in the first place perhaps?

Simple question, is there a rule saying you can wield one implement? Yes. Is there a rule saying you can wield one weapon? Yes. Is there a rule saying you can wield two weapons? Yes. Is there a rule saying you can wield two implements? No.

If there is a dual wielding of implements stated anywhere in the rules, than it would be possible and there would be rules for it. Without it, you wield one implement at a time, although you may hold two different implements and wield one at a time.

EDIT:

One note: Holy symbols explicitly state that if you have multiple holy symbols NONE of them function.

Ultimately, not only do they explain how dual wielding of weapons works, they explicitly have a special keyword to allow a weapon to be the "other" dual wielded weapon. Unless an implement is considered to be off-hand, if couldn't be dual wielded in the other hand. That treats them EXACTLY the same way as weapons are treated.
 
Last edited:

You can't dual wield two weapons if neither of them are off-hand weapons, but you can certainly hold two long swords and attack with either one on any given round without penalty since no dominant hand mechanic exists in the game. So, in essence this discussion would apply to passive powers on weapons as well. It's not limited to implements (though implements are weapons in my opinion, at least in the sense that they use the same slots and only one of them specifically disallows dual wielding.)
 


Like I said, since neither the WOTC staff, nor the users here on this board seem to agree, it'll have to be left to the DM's discretion. At least until WOTC prints something clear and definitive in black and white.

I still stand by my position that, by default, you cannot dual wield implements since there are no rules that clearly spell out how to dual wield implements.
 

Besides, why kick what is generally considered the weakest class in the junk again while all the melee folk are running around with their frost weapons.

Are you kidding?? Weakest class???? I had been thinking that the Warlock was WOTC's new golden boy....
 

I've updated my question at WOTC CS with a requst for someone from their staff to take a look at this thread. *shrug* maybe they'll show up here....
 


Remove ads

Top