Orb of Force vs Antimagic Field

Thanee

First Post
Can you cast an Orb of Force outside an Antimagic Field and affect a creature inside the AMF?

I think so, since Conjuration (Creation) effects of instantaneous duration are not magical anymore after the casting, but wanted to hear some more opinions on this.

Bye
Thanee
 

log in or register to remove this ad

yeah, orb of force creates a non-magical orb of magical force.
brilliant isn't it? :p

So yeah, that's how it works


note: sarcasm in italics
 
Last edited:

Thanee said:
I think so, since Conjuration (Creation) effects of instantaneous duration are not magical anymore after the casting, but wanted to hear some more opinions on this.

As written?

If the spell has an instantaneous duration, the created object or creature is merely assembled through magic. It lasts indefinitely and does not depend on magic for its existence.

The implication, then, is that the orb persists even after striking (or missing) its target. As an instantaneous conjuration [creation], it 'lasts indefinitely', and nothing in the text suggests it is destroyed.

You could sell used Orbs of Force as children's toys! :)

-Hyp.
 

dedicated said:
yeah, orb of force creates a non-magical orb of magical force.
brilliant isn't it?

So yeah, that's how it works
Looking at it from another perspective, not all force effects are subject to either an anti-magic field or Dispell Magic (Wall of Force specifically spells this out for itself). An orb of force, if completely self-contained after creation, could reasonably keep an AMF outside itself, just like a Wall of Force does.
 


You could sell used Orbs of Force as children's toys! :)

Fill a pit with them for the neighborhood kids to play in. *nod*


Because what kid doesn't love playing in the Orb of Force room at the local Chuck E. Cheeze?
 


Sejs said:
Fill a pit with them for the neighborhood kids to play in. *nod*


Because what kid doesn't love playing in the Orb of Force room at the local Chuck E. Cheeze?
Huh. Spent Orbs of Force. Who'da thunk?

Do pits filled with 'em get just as sticky as the mundane (plastic) variety at McDonald's(tm)?
 

Thanee said:
Yes, I realize, that this spell is kinda weird and belongs to the evocation school. ;)

That's why it is.

The latest version of the spell in Dragon #328 (Feb 05) while Complete Arcane was published (Nov 04).
 

The spell doesn't say that you throw it at the target, does it?

I question if it is magic that makes it hit the target, of if it is the user throwing it. I realize that it is range touch, but is it the magic targeting it, or the caster?

I personally do not think that low level Conjuration spells (like the Orb spells or Acid Arrow) should be able to bypass Antimagic Field.

I would hope that the Line of Effect rules would actually come into play here.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top