Podcast #282 Looking Back at 2023 in RPGs

This week, Morrus, PJ, and Jessica look back at 2023 in RPGs and the industry. In the news, Wizards of the Coast AI art controversy AGAIN, PaizoCon coming to local game stores, a new Disney RPG from Ravensburger, and more! Plus a brand new sketch about confronting the GM about the tone in her games.

MUTRTLogoWide.jpg


Subscribe on iTunes | Google Play | YouTube | TuneIn | Stitcher | Blubrry | Podbean | Spotify | Android

News

Jennell Jaquays passed away https://www.enworld.org/threads/industry-veteran-jennell-jaquays-passes.702020/

GoFundMe by Jennell’s wife to cover medical costs and final expenses https://www.gofundme.com/f/jennell-jaquays-has-a-long-road-back

WotC: “We made a mistake when we said an image not AI” https://www.enworld.org/threads/wotc-we-made-a-mistake-when-we-said-an-image-not-ai.701976/

PaizoCon at Local Game Stores https://www.enworld.org/threads/paizocon-at-local-game-stores.702005/

Ravensburger announces RPG/storytelling board game Chronicles of Light: Darkness Falls licensed by Disney https://www.enworld.org/threads/rav...pg-chronicles-of-light-darkness-falls.702050/

Utility Spells Redux from Purple Martin Games https://preview.drivethrurpg.com/en/product/466232/utility-spells-redux-a5e?affiliate_id=36142

Extra Credits and Deeper Mysteries from Roll Them Bones Gaming https://preview.drivethrurpg.com/en...redit-and-deeper-mysteries?affiliate_id=36142

Toil and Trouble: The Kitchen Witch Archetype & Hearth Magic for Every Witch from Plant Witch Press https://preview.drivethrurpg.com/en...arth-magic-for-every-witch?affiliate_id=36142

Level Up: A5E Gate Pass Gazette Annual 2023 https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/enworld/level-up-a5e-gate-pass-gazette-annual-2023

Licensed D&D journal and notebook sets from Random House https://www.enworld.org/threads/new-licensed-dungeons-dragons-journal-sets-from-random-house.702049/

Pick up Troika! the science-fantasy TTRPG for free https://www.enworld.org/threads/pick-up-troika-the-sci-fantasy-ttrpg-for-free.702053/

DOOM GUARD: Super Powered Board Game from Pinnacle Entertainment https://www.enworld.org/threads/doo...oard-game-from-pinnacle-entertainment.701480/

What’s coming from EN Publishing in 2024 https://www.enworld.org/threads/pla...enagerie-ii-en-publishings-2024-slate.701969/

Vote for the Most Anticipated RPG for 2024 – Polls open until January 15 https://www.enworld.org/threads/vote-for-the-most-anticipated-rpg-of-2024.701867/

--------------------

2023 Year in Review

OGL Crisis Concludes https://www.enworld.org/threads/wot...5e-rules-released-as-creative-commons.694850/

Beth Rimmels reviews Dungeons & Dragons: Honor Among Thieves https://www.enworld.org/threads/dungeons-dragons-honor-among-thieves-movie-review.696726/

D&D Creator Summit https://www.enworld.org/threads/d-d-creator-summit-vtt-one-d-d.696974/

Bigby Presents Glory of the Giants algorithmically generated art controversy https://www.enworld.org/threads/glory-of-the-giants-ai-enhanced-art.699127/

Wizards of the Coast responds to Bigby art controversy https://www.enworld.org/threads/wotc-artists-must-refrain-from-using-ai-art-generation.699147/

Wizards of the Coast artist falsely accused of using AI https://www.enworld.org/threads/wot...icy-after-youtubers-false-accusations.701714/

Hasbro layoffs and effects on the D&D team https://www.enworld.org/threads/updated-hasbro-laying-off-1-100-employees.701567/

Deck of Many Things release delayed due to printing issue https://www.enworld.org/threads/deck-of-many-things-release-delayed.700685/

Paizo announces ORC License https://www.enworld.org/threads/pai...e-open-rpg-license-to-replace-the-ogl.694404/

Kobold Press announces Project Black Flag https://www.polygon.com/23695923/mtg-aftermath-pinkerton-raid-leaked-cards

Critical Role sells out Wembley Arena https://www.enworld.org/threads/critical-roles-sold-out-wembley-arena-show.700667/

D&D Beyond Partnered Content starting with Critical Role’s Tal’Dorei Reborn https://www.enworld.org/threads/wot...ical-roles-tal’dorei-campaign-setting.699327/

News Digest for August 11, 2023 (Story on the GenCon theft) https://www.enworld.org/threads/news-digest-for-august-11-2023.699225/

Interview with Walking Dead Universe RPG designer Nils Hintze from this week https://www.enworld.org/threads/the-walking-dead-universe-rpg-an-interview-with-nils-hintze.701371/

Rob Wieland reviews Blade Runner The Roleplaying Game https://www.enworld.org/threads/a-review-of-blade-runner.693803/

Rob Wieland reviews Dragonbane https://www.enworld.org/threads/dragonbane-offers-a-box-full-of-classic-fantasy.699064/

Million Dollar Crowdfunding Club https://www.enworld.org/threads/million-dollar-ttrpg-kickstarter-club.678540/

Far West RPG finally delivers on Kickstarter funded in 2011 https://www.enworld.org/threads/far-west-now-available.699708/

Evil Genius Games Sues Netflix Over ‘Rebel Moon’ Roleplaying Game https://www.enworld.org/threads/evi...flix-over-rebel-moon-roleplaying-game.700124/

--------------------

Please support us on Patreon at http://patreon.com/morrus

Don’t forget to join the Morrus’ Unofficial Tabletop RPG Talk Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/1033145023517295/ and join us on Discord at https://discord.gg/VAuxX8M

Ask your Listener Question on Twitter, email morruspodcast@gmail.com, or contact us on TikTok at TikTok

--------------------

Hosts: Russ “Morrus” Morrissey, Peter Coffey, and Jessica Hancock

Editing and post-production: Darryl Mott

Theme Song: Steve Arnott

Malach the Maleficent played by Darren Morrissey

Check out all the media content from EN World at http://enliverpg.com
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Darryl Mott

Darryl Mott

Related Articles

Remove ads

Latest threads

Remove ads

AD6_gamerati_skyscraper

Remove ads

Recent & Upcoming Releases

Top