Power Attack, Coup de Grâce, and the Sage's answer

FreeTheSlaves said:
I really don't see what the big deal is. Rogues can already add their sneak attack to the CDG which makes the fort save near impossible.

You always save on a 20. But other than that it's a technical rules question really. The discussion was whether CdG was considered a melee attack in it itself and therefore the damage was considered 'melee damage'. Hence the discusion in the first place.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

I thought that was a pretty good answer from the Sage - well thought out and covering many of the issues.

Thanks for posting it, Trainz!

Cheers!
 

Staffan said:
I have no problem whatsoever with power attack helping on a CdG. CdGs are supposed to be lethal.

Oh, and could you please not mess with colors? White text shows up really bad on the white background in the d20Modern skin.
I can't. I love messing around with guys from Sweden.

:p

Actually, it is a formatting problem. I copy-pasted the text from the e-mail reply, and aside from what I directly typed in the composition window, it showed as dark on dark once I hit post reply. Since I (and most ENworlders) use the dark background, I had to change the color to light beige, which is how most of us normal non d20modern-skin-using-freak people view posts.

You rebel you.
 

MerricB said:
I thought that was a pretty good answer from the Sage - well thought out and covering many of the issues.

Thanks for posting it, Trainz!

Cheers!
No problem. I did it mostly for my sake. I was sick of seeing this debate pop-up every month for the past years. I gave it a shot, and it worked.

I hope the poor horse can rest in peace now.
 


hong said:
I forget. Who gets to wear which hat this time?
I'm personally wearing the "this is as good as an official answer as you'll get, so go with it or house rule away" hat.

The defense rests, your honor.
 
Last edited:

Did you guys send these hat posts to the Sage as well ;)?

Anyway, there's nothing in the post that wasn't mentioned in our monthlong thread yet... But I'm glad to see he does indeed understand the problems and their implications fully.
 


MerricB said:
I thought that was a pretty good answer from the Sage - well thought out and covering many of the issues.

Thanks for posting it, Trainz!

Cheers!

I agree, it was a good answer from the Sage - basically that yes by the book you can PA on a CDG, but there's nothing wrong with house-ruling that you can't.
 

S'mon said:
I agree, it was a good answer from the Sage - basically that yes by the book you can PA on a CDG, but there's nothing wrong with house-ruling that you can't.

Actually he said that by the book you cannot use PA on a CDG, since CDG is not a melee attack, but he would allow it still. I do agree with that, I have always allowed it myself.

Bye
Thanee
 

Remove ads

Top