Quick clarification on Beastmaster?

EDIT: Ninja'd, though there are exceptions for unconscious. Reference MP 42. How would that work if you, the ranger, were denied actions, such as through being dominated?

Good catch, I missed that bit. As far as dominate goes, that would count as "present in the encounter but unable to command the beast" as described on p. 42. So the beast would move to a spot adjacent to the character and then be able to act freely.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Thank goodness I found this thread. Had some issues come up with my beastmaster ranger a session or two ago.

1. If my beast is dazed, how does that effect its actions? Say that something is dazing my beast. On my turn, I move to an enemy, allowing my beast to also move adjacent to the enemy. Now, can I order my beast to attack using a power with the Beast keyword? Or is it "out of actions," despite not having any actions of its own anyway?

(our DM ruled that it only got one "action" that I grant, so the move action was it. I was fine with that)

2. If I'm stunned, and therefore cannot spend actions of my own, is the beast allowed to spend its own actions as if I was unconscious/tied up and gagged?

3. If my beast is dominated, does its basic attack/move that it makes count as my own move/standard action?

Man, if I could get some help on these, it'd be great. Some of the beastmaster writeup from MP is like greek to me.
 

Thank goodness I found this thread. Had some issues come up with my beastmaster ranger a session or two ago.

1. If my beast is dazed, how does that effect its actions? Say that something is dazing my beast. On my turn, I move to an enemy, allowing my beast to also move adjacent to the enemy. Now, can I order my beast to attack using a power with the Beast keyword? Or is it "out of actions," despite not having any actions of its own anyway?

(our DM ruled that it only got one "action" that I grant, so the move action was it. I was fine with that)

I don't have Martial Power to double-check the specific wording, but that's how I'd rule it too. I do recall that MP says "if your beast is unable to take the action you command, the action is wasted." Dazed makes the beast unable to take more than a single action, so you could only command it to do one thing. (A case could be made that using a ranger power that allows the beast to attack doesn't count as the beast "taking an action," but I'm inclined to rule in favor of the spirit of the dazed condition: you can order your beast to do one thing per round, whether that one thing is move, attack, take a minor action, or assist you as part of a power.)

2. If I'm stunned, and therefore cannot spend actions of my own, is the beast allowed to spend its own actions as if I was unconscious/tied up and gagged?

That would count as "present in the encounter but unable to command your beast," so the beast would first have to move adjacent to you as quickly and safely as possible, then could act freely. Note that the beast isn't required to stay adjacent to you, but whenever it isn't adjacent it must move back to you. It could, for example, charge an enemy a few squares away, but after the charge it would immediately return to your side.

3. If my beast is dominated, does its basic attack/move that it makes count as my own move/standard action?

IMHO, if your beast is dominated it's treated as just another creature.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top