Quickdraw

werk said:
If you have a DM that believes that it is underpowered you can usually convince them to allow a little more functionality too, like quickdrawing wands and potions, quick-sheathe...the cheese goes on and on...

I play a bard in my current group, and plan to take QuickDraw as my next feat.

Too many times I've needed to change roles in consecutive rounds, and it will be sooo useful to be able to get full round or full attack actions in there as part of a sequence. Imagine going from ranged combat (shortbow), to melee fighter/flanker (rapier), to healer (CLW wand), changing back to a weapon for an AOO (whip), to arcane wand wielder (shatter spell).
 

log in or register to remove this ad

irdeggman said:
Basically you must physically move (not merely be using a move action)...

You must make a regular move. The Crawl action, the Run action, the Charge action all allow one to move, but they do not allow you to make a regular move. They allow you to move subject to special conditions and considerations.

-Hyp.
 

Nerfwright said:
I play a bard in my current group, and plan to take QuickDraw as my next feat.

Too many times I've needed to change roles in consecutive rounds, and it will be sooo useful to be able to get full round or full attack actions in there as part of a sequence. Imagine going from ranged combat (shortbow), to melee fighter/flanker (rapier), to healer (CLW wand), changing back to a weapon for an AOO (whip), to arcane wand wielder (shatter spell).

I hate to tell you this, but a wand is not a weapon.

You might get lucky; your dm might allow you to quickdraw wands. Many (myself included) won't.

If the dm enforces all the rules about drawing weapons, Quickdraw is an awesome feat. It lets you get full attacks when you wouldn't otherwise; it will let you do things like draw weapon-attack-draw wand or defensive item; etc. Combine it with Two-Weapon Fighting and you're really seeing some advantages. Without it, you need either to limit yourself to one attack for two rounds, or to spend a full round drawing weapons before you can unleash a full attack. With Quickdraw, you full attack as soon as the enemy is close enough to full attack. At higher levels, this can save you the loss of 10 or even more attacks (assuming a nigh-epic fighter with high BAB, Greater 2WF and haste, you can easily pack in 8 attacks per round).
 

the Jester said:
I hate to tell you this, but a wand is not a weapon.

You might get lucky; your dm might allow you to quickdraw wands. Many (myself included) won't.

Any particular reason why not? A player would argue a wand and dagger physically similar, why can he quickdraw one from a sheath but not the other ?
 

the Jester said:
I hate to tell you this, but a wand is not a weapon.

You might get lucky; your dm might allow you to quickdraw wands. Many (myself included) won't.
From the rules:
"Draw or Sheathe a Weapon
Drawing a weapon so that you can use it in combat, or putting it away so that you have a free hand, requires a move action. This action also applies to weapon-like objects carried in easy reach, such as wands."
 
Last edited:

the Jester said:
I hate to tell you this, but a wand is not a weapon.

You might get lucky; your dm might allow you to quickdraw wands. Many (myself included) won't.
All DMs should allow it, because a wand is drawn as any other weapon is drawn. mvincent I'm sure quotes the rule on this, but he put it in 2pt font, so I'm not sure you can read it. :D
 

Infiniti2000 said:
All DMs should allow it, because a wand is drawn as any other weapon is drawn.

Well, it depends on how you read the Quick Draw feat.

The Draw a Weapon move action allows you to draw a weapon or weaponlike object.

The Quick Draw feat allows you to draw a weapon as a free action.

Now, if when Quick Draw says "draw a weapon", it means "take the Draw a Weapon action", then it will allow you to draw a weapon or weaponlike object as a free action. But if it means "draw a weapon" in the same way that the Draw a Weapon action uses the phrase - that is, as one half of the phrase "draw a weapon or weaponlike object" - then Quick Draw allows you to draw a weapon as a free action, but has no effect on the time it takes to draw a weaponlike object. In this case, drawing a weaponlike object (such as a wand) would require taking the action that covers this - the Draw a Weapon action, which is a move action or can be combined with a regular move.

-Hyp.
 

Infiniti2000 said:
All DMs should allow it, because a wand is drawn as any other weapon is drawn. mvincent I'm sure quotes the rule on this, but he put it in 2pt font, so I'm not sure you can read it. :D
Hmm.... font size 1 seems perfectly readable to me (only slightly smaller than normal on my screen), but evidently it can be different for others. I'll quit doing that, but I'm curious how many see it as tiny, and how many see it as readable.
 

Hypersmurf said:
You must make a regular move. The Crawl action, the Run action, the Charge action all allow one to move, but they do not allow you to make a regular move. They allow you to move subject to special conditions and considerations.

-Hyp.


Depends on which quote you emphasize.

One says "combined with a regular move" and the other says "part of movement". Same source (PHB/SRD) different locations.

But in general I would agree with you on this one.
 


Remove ads

Top