Ready vs spellcasting and AOO with a reach weapon

Charging is a full round action. If you can't take Full Round actions you can still charge as a standard or move action. So, you could ready a charge if you were Slowed, but not normally. Which seems quite odd.

SRD:

"If you are able to take only a standard action or a move action on your turn, you can still charge, but you are only allowed to move up to your speed (instead of up to double your speed). You can’t use this option unless you are restricted to taking only a standard action or move action on your turn."
 

log in or register to remove this ad

nittanytbone said:
SRD:

"If you are able to take only a standard action or a move action on your turn, you can still charge, but you are only allowed to move up to your speed (instead of up to double your speed). You can’t use this option unless you are restricted to taking only a standard action or move action on your turn."
There it is.

Still can't ready such a charge, of course.
 

Ah so your saying that charge is still a full round action, so can never be readied, even if you are still able to do it as a standard action or move action on your turn.

If you have Cometary Collision you can ready a standard action to use the feat allowing you to charge, but again technically you aren't readying a charge.
 

Bagpuss said:
If you have Cometary Collision you can ready a standard action to use the feat allowing you to charge, but again technically you aren't readying a charge.
And Cometary Collision specificly calls out the feat is what allows you to do so.

Now personnally, I allow readied charges, but all movement for that round, if any was taken, had to be in the same line as the charge.
 

carborundum said:
ready a partial charge, I meant.
Technically, readying a charge shouldn't be allowed. This has actually been discussed at length:
Here
Here
Here
Here
Here and
Here

There is a glitch in the rules (and not the writer's intent) that could lead one to interpret that readying a charge is possible if you are slowed, staggered, disabled, a zombie, etc. However, allowing such leads to all sorts of wierdness.

That said: if your DM allows it, keep on chargin' I guess.
 

Bagpuss said:
Ah so your saying that charge is still a full round action, so can never be readied, even if you are still able to do it as a standard action or move action on your turn.

It's not; Charge carries footnote 5 on Table 8-2, which says "May be taken as a standard action if X"

Since it may be taken as a standard action if X, it may be readied if X (where X is restricted-to-taking-a-standard-or-move-action-on-your-turn).

-Hyp.
 

Indeed, I misread the Ready action. It does appear that a slowed charge could be readied.

So this is a good example of how strict RAW produces silly results. By allowing such a charge to be readied, a slowed character would be able to execute a full round's worth of actions (for him) between his turns, and also allow him to do more between his turns (move full speed and attack once - with a bonus to attack, no less) than a non-slowed character (move full speed or attack once).

It appears the ready action was not considered when determining that the slow charge would be a standard action. Also note that the text for charge does not refer to such a charge as a standard action; only the table does. In the text for charge, it does not state that it becomes a standard action for a slowed character, rather that such a character can still charge, but only to half the normal distance.
 

Fifth Element said:
In the text for charge, it does not state that it becomes a standard action for a slowed character, rather that such a character can still charge, but only to half the normal distance.

Ah - so you want to ignore the table here, too?

We're just throwing out rules all over the place these days! :D
 


Fifth Element said:
Yes, if there is a rule that makes no sense, I do prefer to ignore it.

Actually, I solved the issue in a different way (which has since been incorporated by Saga): Charge is a standard action, involving movement up to your speed in a straight line and a single melee attack at +2.

Yes, it breaks some feat / PrC abilities, but those were silly and never used anyway, so ...

:)
 

Remove ads

Top