Readying a partial charge

frankthedm said:
The initiative result has not yet changed during the readied action.

Readying an Action
You can ready a standard action, a move action, or a free action. To do so, specify the action you will take and the conditions under which you will take it. Then, any time before your next action, you may take the readied action in response to that condition. The action occurs just before the action that triggers it. If the triggered action is part of another character’s activities, you interrupt the other character. Assuming he is still capable of doing so, he continues his actions once you complete your readied action. Your initiative result changes. For the rest of the encounter, your initiative result is the count on which you took the readied action, and you act immediately ahead of the character whose action triggered your readied action.

You can take a 5-foot step as part of your readied action, but only if you don’t otherwise move any distance during the round.

It does not really matter. The arguments are rather hyper-technical ether way and thus of questionable value.

Bottom line: No you cannot do it. You can make an argument for it, but WotC seems to feel that it is not a good idea and currently the rules, as interpeted by WotC (as far as I know) do not allow it.

I think charging is currently over-restricted, but that's just my unofficial personal opinion. :)
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Artoomis said:
I think charging is currently over-restricted, but that's just my unofficial personal opinion. :)
I completely agree. I…

…allow Partial charges on a ready if the character did not move whatsoever when they readied. I'd even allow readying a partial charge after moving provided all the movement would be in the same line of charge {however both sides would be making secondary initiative checks in this situation when they meet to determine who lands the blow first]

… allow charges when movement has been reduced {provided the character still can cover the distance]. I even allow jumping over difficult terrain to reduce how much it slows down the charging character.

… allow charging through ally’s spaces.

… allow overrun as part of the movement of a charge.

… allow a thrown weapon be chucked as part of a normal full round charge.

… changed Set Vs Charge to “As long as the wielder has acted in combat, weapons with this option do double damage on the first AoO or readied attack against a charging foe. Choosing to do this forfeits the option to 5’ adjust after the ready”.

… use critical failures on natural 1’s.

… make the charging be a straight line to the foe {center of base to center of base determines the line].

… cut power attack down to x1.5 with a two handed weapon.

… read Ride by Attack as you can continue move in the same line as the charge, how you get through your foes space is up to you [see how I run overrun…].

… won’t allow those “extra damage on a charge” feats, classes or spells from splat material.
 
Last edited:

starwed said:
If you're restricted to a single standard action during your turn, you can make a "partial charge."

The question is, if you're restricted this way, can you use your action to ready a partial charge? It seems to me like this is the RAW, although it seems a bit weird that being restricted this way gives you an extra combat option.
Regarding RAW, I honestly don't know. :\

I think the keyword or key phrase above is "if you're restricted." One could argue that some external force must restrict you to a single action per turn, perhaps a surprise round. Another could argue that if you restrict yourself ... as in the case of Readying an [Standard] Action ... that is also allowed, but others would disagree.

Sighs.

Being a lenient DM, I would allow characters to ready a partial charge. Whether that is aligned with WotC's party-line official ruling or not, I'm sticking by my "own common sense" interpretation. If a knight (not necessarily a class) want to ready a charge against an opposing lancer, then so be it. I just hope he gauge his distance well enough to meet for a charge attack.
 

Ranger REG said:
Another could argue that if you restrict yourself ... as in the case of Readying an [Standard] Action ...
If you do allow this, it becomes a self-fulfilling prophecy. You are basically allowing someone to ready an undefined action. Once they ready, then you allow them to assign the action. Note that prior to actually taking the Ready action, they are not restricted and thus "Restricted Charge" is an invalid choice for the Ready action.

They cannot even decide to take the Ready a Restricted Charge action because their action is not yet restricted until after they take it.

Chicken & the Egg.
 

Realizing that one of the creatures that benefits from the restricted action portion are creatures that only get a restricted actions anyway. Like zombies or those who are "slowed".
 

I vote yes to readying partial charges.
It is silly that the guy who waits for the right moment to charge can't do it but the guy who is just moving slow due to some condition can. :confused:
I agree on the no movement before readying the charge though.

player: "I get ready to charge and bullrush the zombie out of the room when it comes through the door"
DM: "you can't, because you can't ready a charge. the zombie charges through the door and attacks you and does 10 points of damage"
player: "..?.."

It's not like a readied charge is a sword of continual true strike. :p
 


Kmart Kommando said:
I vote yes to readying partial charges.
It is silly that the guy who waits for the right moment to charge can't do it but the guy who is just moving slow due to some condition can.
That's a different question, though. "Should you be allowed" to ready a restricted charge (note the 3.5 terminology change) is different than "are you allowed."

Kmart Kommando said:
I agree on the no movement before readying the charge though.
Why not, if it's in the same direction as the charge? Also, note that bull rush is a standard action, so you can, in fact, ready a bull rush.

Kmart Kommando said:
player: "I get ready to charge and bullrush the zombie out of the room when it comes through the door"
DM: "you can't, because you can't ready a charge. the zombie charges through the door and attacks you and does 10 points of damage"
player: "..?.."
I have a problem with this example outside of the current debate. As a DM, if a player tries an action that is not allowed, do you as DM really just consider the PC's action wasted? The DM should have said, "You can't, because you can't ready a charge. Do you want to just ready a bull rush or do something else?" I would stop gaming with you if you are so draconian in your DMing style.
 

Infiniti2000 said:
As a DM, if a player tries an action that is not allowed, do you as DM really just consider the PC's action wasted? The DM should have said, "You can't, because you can't ready a charge. Do you want to just ready a bull rush or do something else?" I would stop gaming with you if you are so draconian in your DMing style.
I think Kmart was just using that as an example of inequality that the zombie can charge in the situation, while the character could not. The assumption seemed to be the character did something else with his action rather than it just be wasted.
 

frankthedm said:
I think Kmart was just using that as an example of inequality that the zombie can charge in the situation, while the character could not. The assumption seemed to be the character did something else with his action rather than it just be wasted.


The zombie can charge, but still can't "ready" a charge can it?

The character in question could, however, "delay"

Also the character could not ready the charge for those conditions since in order to charge you must meet the following conditions:

Movement During a Charge: You must move before your attack, not after. You must move at least 10 feet (2 squares) and may move up to double your speed directly toward the designated opponent.

You must have a clear path toward the opponent, and nothing can hinder your movement (such as difficult terrain or obstacles). Here’s what it means to have a clear path. First, you must move to the closest space from which you can attack the opponent. (If this space is occupied or otherwise blocked, you can’t charge.) Second, if any line from your starting space to the ending space passes through a square that blocks movement, slows movement, or contains a creature (even an ally), you can’t charge. (Helpless creatures don’t stop a charge.)

If you don’t have line of sight to the opponent at the start of your turn, you can’t charge that opponent.

You can’t take a 5-foot step in the same round as a charge.

If you are able to take only a standard action or a move action on your turn, you can still charge, but you are only allowed to move up to your speed (instead of up to double your speed). You can’t use this option unless you are restricted to taking only a standard action or move action on your turn.

Pretty much you must have a clear line to your target before you can do the action.
 

Remove ads

Top