Readying a partial charge


log in or register to remove this ad

werk said:


I might be reading this too restrictively but - a charge is a full-round action by definition. It is allowed to be done when if you are restricted to a standard or move action only. But it is still in itself a full round action - hence it can't be readied.

This reading makes it consistent across the board, IMO.
 

I've been in these discussions before, but that is the first time I've come across that interpretation. I like it. It certainly adds consistency.
 

irdeggman said:
I might be reading this too restrictively but - a charge is a full-round action by definition. It is allowed to be done when if you are restricted to a standard or move action only. But it is still in itself a full round action - hence it can't be readied.

This reading makes it consistent across the board, IMO.
That makes it inconsistent with a restricted withdraw, however, which is explicitly called a standard action. I do see your position on it, but I think it's nonintuitive.
 

I agree with I2K. I also see where irdeggman is coming from, but I don't believe that is the correct interpretation. I might run the idea of 'readying a partial charge' past my two DMs and see what they think about it.
 

irdeggman said:
I might be reading this too restrictively but - a charge is a full-round action by definition. It is allowed to be done when if you are restricted to a standard or move action only. But it is still in itself a full round action - hence it can't be readied.

This reading makes it consistent across the board, IMO.
Another key phrase is "on your turn."

When your initiative comes up and you Ready a Partial Charge, are you still technically "on your turn" during someone else's turn until you complete your Partial Charge?
 
Last edited:

When you ready an action, you are voluntarily restricting yourself to a standard action, because you can't ready more than that. Sure, you can move and ready, but you can't move somewhere and then charge anyway. So if you just stay put, and ready a charge, you're giving up something (the ability to double move) to gain a tactical advantage later, a staple part of the readied action.
 

Let me get this straight
by RAW
you could ready a Bull rush - ie move and push back an enemy
you could ready an Overrun - ie move and push past an enemy
but you can't ready a partial charge - ie move and stab an enemy

(allowing for "you can't move and ready and then move")

Doesn't make sense to me, but I'll happily call my interpretation a house rule and allow it...
 


Phlebas said:
Let me get this straight
by RAW
you could ready a Bull rush - ie move and push back an enemy
you could ready an Overrun - ie move and push past an enemy
but you can't ready a partial charge - ie move and stab an enemy

(allowing for "you can't move and ready and then move")

Doesn't make sense to me, but I'll happily call my interpretation a house rule and allow it...
Well, I could argue that charge attack is based on the momentum you gain from your speed, which is why you benefit from the +2 to attack penalty (and sacrifice your AC by -2).

The Bull Rush can be used as a standard action -- which leaves you with a move action to approach your opponent -- or can be used as part of your charge attack (instead of making an attack at the end of your double-move, you bull-rush him).

The Overrun can only be used as a standard action that can be taken during your move action, so you're not actually making a charge attack (i.e., won't gain both benefit and penalty above).
 

Remove ads

Top