Relentless Assault and Opportunity Attacks

When it comes to the Warlord Attack Power 25, Relentless Assault; it states than when you or an ally scores a critical, you and each ally can make a BA as a Opportunity Attack. Given that you cant make an Opportunity Attack on your own turn, does this mean if player A scores a critical, then Player A cannot immediately make an Opportunity Attack via Relentless Assault? Or, is it a case of "specific beats general," and Player A can immediately make an Opportunity Attack if Player A scores a critical?
In short, can a player make an Opportunity Attack via Relentless Assault on his or her own turn?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

I would wager that "you and each ally" wording means one of two things:

1. Exception to the general rule re: no opportunity attacks; or
2. You can make such an opportunity attack based on your own attack only if it takes place when you are eligible to take an opportunity action (e.g. if your warlord gives you an attack on his turn and you crit, you get the Relentless Assault OA).

I would lean towards 2, because otherwise they prolly would have phrased it "as a free action" or something.
 

The exact wording of the Effect line of the power reads:

Effect: Until the end of the encounter, when you or an ally scores a critical hit, you and each ally can make a basic attack as an opportunity action.
I interpret it as saying that if Bob gets a crit, everyone but Bob can make a basic attack. If you get a crit, everyone but you can make a basic attack. It's worded to make it clear that the power applies to everyone, but I personally don't interpret it as saying that it trumps the "no opportunity actions on your own turn" rule.

If it were intended to let you make the attack on your own turn, I think they would have worded as a free action rather than an opportunity action.

Edit: Jester brings up a good point about a crit on an attack that occurs on someone else's turn, such as an attack that the Warlord himself grants. If an ally crits on that attack, for instance, then yes, it should allowed to make the basic attack - but the Warlord couldn't in that case, because it's the Warlord's turn.
 
Last edited:


Remove ads

Top