Retrieving Scrolls and Quick Draw

-Eä-

First Post
Getting a scroll for use is a move-equivalent action that provokes an attack of opportunity. If my wizard takes the Quick Draw feat, having the scrolls in a position very easy to get, would it be possibly to retrieve the scroll as a free action that provokes an attack of opportunity?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Hey, if your going to burn a feat on it, why not? As long as the scroll is as easy to get to as a sword, no problem. You can even do quick draws for any object if it is stored properly (go bat utility belt!).
 

I don't think that preparing a scroll draws an AoO (unless it's on the ground or in your backpack).

In the Broken Realms, they have a non-magical bandolier that lets your prepare a scroll as a free action.

As a DM, I would not allow Quick Draw to be used for anything other than weapons. But a new feat ("Quick Unfurl"?) that does the same thing for scrolls sounds well balanced.
 

The feat specifically says a weapon (so you could bash the enemy with the scroll), but it would not be an unreasonable house rule to use it as you describe.

-Fletch!
 

-Eä- said:
If my wizard takes the Quick Draw feat, having the scrolls in a position very easy to get, would it be possibly to retrieve the scroll as a free action that provokes an attack of opportunity?

No. Quick Draw does not apply to scrolls. However, look into getting Heward's Handy Haversack. That's a perfect workaround.
 

Personaly i would let this apply to both scrolls & wands as long as they were equiped in easy to get to places. I think this is a very neat and none over powering use of the feat.

Teleri_mm
 

Teleri_mm said:
Personaly i would let this apply to both scrolls & wands as long as they were equiped in easy to get to places. I think this is a very neat and none over powering use of the feat.

I might let a Wizard take Quick Draw and have it apply to wands and scrolls, but then I wouldn't let it apply to weapons.
 

Ki Ryn said:
In the Broken Realms...
now, now....:p

Scroll Organizer (5 gp; 1/2 lb.) long strip of leather with overlapping series of fifteen pockets big enough for a single spell scroll; the organizer shows only the tops of the scrolls allowing the user to read the scroll titles easily
 

Given that the feat makes no distinction between weapons - you could quick draw a dagger, greatsword, or a longbow all equally well with the one feat - I'd have no issue allowing a wizard to quick draw a wand or scroll that was readily available.

IceBear
 

IceBear said:
Given that the feat makes no distinction between weapons - you could quick draw a dagger, greatsword, or a longbow all equally well with the one feat - I'd have no issue allowing a wizard to quick draw a wand or scroll that was readily available.

Since it makes no distinction, what about...

1) a potion?
2) a flask of oil, alchemists fire, etc.?
3) a torch?
4) a spellbook?
5) a rope?
6) a pair of manacles?
7) a pair of goggles?
8) a ring?
9) an amulet?
10) a brooch?
11) a bedroll?
12) a grappling hook?
13) a shovel?
14) a spyglass?

I'm not trying to be merely argumentative. I just think that a distinction has to be made at some point. Otherwise, this will get out of hand very quickly.
 

Remove ads

Top