Rogue Sneak Attack Question

Yellow Sign

Explorer
This came up in our last game. A rogue flanked a opponent and attacked him twice. Both hit. Does the rogue add his sneak attack damage to each attack? Also say that this rogue has the Opportunist special ability and he gets to attack the same opponent with a AOO on the same round. Would that attack add sneak attack damage if it hit and he his still flanked.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Yes and yes. By the rules, every attack against flanked targets or targets that are denied their Dex bonus against the attack is a sneak attack, e.g. causes the full additional damage.

Many DMs seem to think that's too strong though and houserule it.
 

Yellow Sign said:
This came up in our last game. A rogue flanked a opponent and attacked him twice. Both hit. Does the rogue add his sneak attack damage to each attack? Also say that this rogue has the Opportunist special ability and he gets to attack the same opponent with a AOO on the same round. Would that attack add sneak attack damage if it hit and he his still flanked.

Yes on all counts. Sneak attack damage applies to each attack as long as the requirements for a sneak attack are met..
 

Darklone said:
Yes and yes. By the rules, every attack against flanked targets or targets that are denied their Dex bonus against the attack is a sneak attack, e.g. causes the full additional damage.

Many DMs seem to think that's too strong though and houserule it.

Unfortunately, many DMs are wrong.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top