Rules Clarification: Multiple of same effect on one PC?

Phoenix8008

First Post
I need some help to answer a question quickly for a soon to be in progress gaming session! :eek: Help me ENworld, you're my only hope! ;)

Okay, if a single PC is hit by three different creatures with an identical effect that gives them ongoing damage which a save ends, does that PC have to save separately against each effect every round until all 3 are beat? And does the damage from each effect stack so that the PC would take 15 damage the first round and reduce the damage by 5 for each save he/she makes at the end of each round?

Thank you so much for your help!
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Based on my DM's Kit rulebook (pg 146-7)...

...they only take the damage from the highest amount (of the same type of ongoing damage). Ongoing 5 Cold, Ongoing 5 Cold and Ongoing 10 Cold would only do 10 cold damage per turn. Ongoing 5 Cold and Ongoing 10 Fire would do 15 damage - 5 cold & 10 fire.

...they must save against each effect separately.

Cheers!
 

Awesome! Thanks Merric! So they take max 5 damage, but having to save separately against all 3 attacks means its more likely to stay ongoing for longer.

Thanks for the quick assist!
 

Except no, you only get one effect.

Per PHB3 by way of compendium (emphasis mine):

A successful saving throw. A save ends an effect that includes one of the following notations in parentheses: “save ends,” “save ends both,” or “save ends all.”
Identical Effects That a Save Can End: If you are subjected to identical effects that a save can end, including ongoing damage, you ignore all but one of those effects. For example, if you are dazed (save ends) and then you are attacked and again dazed (save ends), you ignore the second effect, since it is identical to the effect you are already subject to.
You never make multiple saving throws against identical effects. You do, however, make separate saving throws against effects that aren’t identical, even if they contain the same condition. For example, dazed (save ends) and dazed and immobilized (save ends both) are not identical effects, so you must make separate saving throws against them.
Overlapping Durations: When you are subjected to identical effects that end at different times, you ignore all the effects but the one that has the most time remaining. Effects that a save can end work differently, since you don’t know when they’re going to end. You, therefore, track effects that a save can end separately from effects that end at specific times.
 


Remove ads

Top