Saving Throws 101 : Refrench My Memory Please

FCWesel

First Post
Hey all, I know this might be a stupid qiuestion (Yes, I know there's no stupid questions, just stupid people :p ) but here goes.

Assuming a character has a base save of "0" and a attribute modifier of -2 (for example). Is thier save then -2, or is a saving throw always at least a "0".

As an aside:

When a Attribute is reduced either normally its just low or save by posion or other debilitating attacks, is that NEGATIVE modifier applied to all things such as skills, saves, attacks, etc...correct?
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad

A negative modifier is a negative modifier. Saves are the base save bonus, plus any attribute modifier.

So, yes, with a base save of +0, and an attribute modifier of -2, you have a net save of -2. Sucks to be you ...
 

FCWesel said:
As an aside:

When a Attribute is reduced either normally its just low or save by posion or other debilitating attacks, is that NEGATIVE modifier applied to all things such as skills, saves, attacks, etc...correct?

Right-o
 


FCWesel said:
When a Attribute is reduced either normally its just low or save by posion or other debilitating attacks, is that NEGATIVE modifier applied to all things such as skills, saves, attacks, etc...correct?
Negative modifiers are added to most things just as positive modifiers. There are a few exceptions where negative modifiers are treated differently (e.g. a Str penalty isn't multiplied by 1.5 when using a two-handed weapon, and a low-Dex character with Combat Reflexes doesn't lose his regular attack of opportunity), but those are pretty rare.
 


Its a term that's been around for a long time...just rplaces "refreshing" with refrenching...kind of like asking for a flavour instead of a favour.

"Can you do me a flavour?"

Just plain old silly
 



Good stuff, now how about...

I was wondering, and I should first specify that I'm playing a 3ed campaign, whether armor's enchantment bonus adds the same bonus to saves? We're playing that (for example) a +1 suit of armor also adds a +1 to Fort, Ref, and Will each. When I tried to find this rule in the 3ed core books, I couldn't locate it. Anyone out there know where I could find this rule? Or, perhaps it's a 2ed rule? Two of our party grew up playing 2ed, so they may have simply assumed the same rule about armor adding to saves is a rule for 3ed. I'm almost scared to ask about this during gametime since we're playing a campaign heavily dependent upon good saves.

:(
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top