scouts and skirmishing

Patryn of Elvenshae said:
Actually, it does, but only by reference.

It's possible to consider a dart, shuriken, or javelin a light or one-handed piercing weapon, but only when you're throwing with both hands:

Thrown Weapons: The same rules apply when you throw a weapon from each hand. Treat a dart or shuriken as a light weapon when used in this manner, and treat a bolas, javelin, net, or sling as a one-handed weapon.

Of course, if you do so, you fail the requirement for Precise Strike - namely, no weapon in your other hand...

-Hyp.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Hypersmurf said:
It's possible to consider a dart, shuriken, or javelin a light or one-handed piercing weapon, but only when you're throwing with both hands:

Thrown Weapons: The same rules apply when you throw a weapon from each hand. Treat a dart or shuriken as a light weapon when used in this manner, and treat a bolas, javelin, net, or sling as a one-handed weapon.

Of course, if you do so, you fail the requirement for Precise Strike - namely, no weapon in your other hand...

-Hyp.


I know what he's going to say, watch. He'll say that since you are "treating" something as a [light weapon], that that specificly proves that its not. If it WERE a light weapon, there's no reason to TREAT it as one, becase it WOULD BE one. But since you get to treat it like a light weapon in one instance, that means that it technicly isn't.
 

Synthetik Fish said:
I know what he's going to say, watch. He'll say that since you are "treating" something as a [light weapon], that that specificly proves that its not. If it WERE a light weapon, there's no reason to TREAT it as one, becase it WOULD BE one. But since you get to treat it like a light weapon in one instance, that means that it technicly isn't.

That's exactly correct. A dart or shuriken is not a light weapon.

But when you're throwing them with two hands, they follow all the rules for light weapons, including eligibility for Precise Strike. (When you aren't, they don't.)

It's just that when you're throwing them with two hands, you can't use Precise Strike, because you have a weapon in your other hand.

Notice the difference between this and a hand crossbow. When you use hand crossbows in both hands, you don't apply all the rules for light weapons (it doesn't say to treat them as light weapons) - you merely apply the penalties for two weapon fighting as if they were. None of the other rules for light weapons are applicable.

-Hyp.
 

Hypersmurf said:
That's exactly correct. A dart or shuriken is not a light weapon.

But when you're throwing them with two hands, they follow all the rules for light weapons, including eligibility for Precise Strike. (When you aren't, they don't.)

It's just that when you're throwing them with two hands, you can't use Precise Strike, because you have a weapon in your other hand.

Notice the difference between this and a hand crossbow. When you use hand crossbows in both hands, you don't apply all the rules for light weapons (it doesn't say to treat them as light weapons) - you merely apply the penalties for two weapon fighting as if they were. None of the other rules for light weapons are applicable.

-Hyp.

So wait, this last addition confused me. Could I precise strike with a single thrown dagger then?
 


Patryn of Elvenshae said:

Well, I wouldn't be so hasty.

Unlike a dart or shuriken, a dagger is a light weapon when only one is wielded in one hand.

If I throw daggers with both hands, my TWF penalties are calculated as per "wielding a light weapon in the off hand", despite the fact that dagger does not appear on the list of thrown weapons that are treated as light weapons when throwing with both hands. It doesn't need a rule that allows it to be treated as a light weapon; it already is a light weapon.

Since it's a light piercing weapon, and I'm not wielding anything in my off-hand, a single thrown dagger would gain Precise Strike damage, as far as I can tell.

-Hyp.
 



Hypersmurf said:
It doesn't need a rule that allows it to be treated as a light weapon; it already is a light weapon.

... in melee. I'd say the rules actually go the other direction. Since daggers aren't mentioned as being treated as light weapons when thrown, they aren't.

Of course, I think that's silly, but there you are. :)
 

On Topic:

The Scout is trained in skirmish warfare. The skirmish rules reflect the scout´s better training to hit and run instead of stand and fight.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top