D&D 5E Sharpshooter

VinAlanson

First Post
In the feat Sharpshooter it says you have mastered ranged weapons.
My question is does this feat apply to melee weapons with the thrown property?
 

log in or register to remove this ad




In the feat Sharpshooter it says you have mastered ranged weapons.
My question is does this feat apply to melee weapons with the thrown property?

Short answer: Partially

Longer answer: The first and second benefits apply to ranged weapon attacks and would therefore apply when you throw a melee weapon. The third benefit applies to ranged weapons, which melee weapons (even with the thrown property) are not.
 




"Partially" is correct. It's what I get for answering without my books handy.

For whatever reason, there are weapon feats that have multiple features that apply to multiple weapon types just to confuse you. Like Great Weapon Mastery having a feature that applies to all melee weapons and then a second feature that applies only to heavy weapons.

But my point still stands that a melee weapon doesn't become a ranged weapon just because you throw it. It's still a melee weapon. You can use it to make ranged weapon attacks, but it's still a melee weapon.
 

The rules do say "a melee weapon is used to attack targets within 5 feet of you, whereas a ranged weapon is used to attack a target at a dislance." (PHB, 146)
You can make a case that thrown weapons are ranged. They are melee weapons that become ranged weapons.

So, the answer is "depends on your DM".
 

Remove ads

Top