Shift as part of a power vs. Restrained

Naszir

First Post
My group had a moment where a sorcerer was restrained by an Ettercap Webspinner. On his next turn he used Storm Walk which allows him to shift as part of the power.

Restrained states "You can't be forced to moce by a pull, a push or a slide" and in addition you are immobilized which means you can't "move" from your space.

How does this affect a shift in this case? The shift is part of a power so it technically is not a "move" action. Yet being immobilized seems to suggest you have to stay in your space.

In the heat of the moment I allowed the shift but looking over things now I probably should have told him he could not shift.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

You cannot shift if you are immobilized or restrained. This includes when you would be allowed to shift as part of a power.

-O
 


Out of curiousity does it say that anywhere officially?

IMMOBILIZED
✦ You can’t move from your space, although you can
teleport and can be forced to move by a pull, a push,
or a slide.


Shifting as part of an action is moving; shifting is a type of movement. Just because it's not a "move" action, doesn't mean it's not movement.
 

My group had a moment where a sorcerer was restrained by an Ettercap Webspinner. On his next turn he used Storm Walk which allows him to shift as part of the power.

Restrained states "You can't be forced to moce by a pull, a push or a slide" and in addition you are immobilized which means you can't "move" from your space.

How does this affect a shift in this case? The shift is part of a power so it technically is not a "move" action.
You can't move when you are immobilized. That's different from not being able to take move actions (which you can do when you are immobilized).
 



Are conditions considered specific or general rules? If they are considered general rules wouldn't the specifics of the Storm Walk Sorcerer spell with the line

Effect: Before or after the attack, you shift 1 square

beat the general condition?
 

Only if the power specifically states it overrules a mentioned general rule. Storm walk would have to say that you may shift even while immobilized.
 


Remove ads

Top