Some questions on Smaller sized twohanded weapons

Storyteller01 said:
Not a jab, but why is a small reach weapon not considered inappropriate for a Medium critter?

As far as I can tell, it is considered inappropriate. for example, a small longspear would be a 1 handed simple weapon (in hands of med creature) and would be able to be used at a -2 penalty to attack, and only being able to strike opponents 10' away.

-BA
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Ballard_Alvar said:
currious, how do you determin reach of a weapon of inappropriate size?

It's a quandary, isn't it? :)

It's why I personally recommend using a modified Savage Species reach system as a house rule.

Effectively, a reach weapon shifts your natural reach by a certain amount based on its size.

A Medium reach weapon shifts your natural reach outwards by 5 feet. A human threatens one square at 5'; a human with a Medium longspear threatens one square at 10'. An ogre threatens two squares at 5' and 10'; an ogre with a Medium longspear threatens two squares at 10' and 15'.

A Large reach weapon shifts your natural reach outwards by 10 feet. An ogre with a Large longspear threatens two squares at 15' and 20'; a human Monkey-Gripping a Large longspear threatens one square at 15'.

Small reach weapons shift by 5'. Tiny reach weapons are special - they don't shift the reach of a Small or larger creature, but they allow a Tiny creature to threaten at 5' (but not in their own square).

It's not core, but it works for me... since the core rules don't really address reach weapons of inappropriate size.

-Hyp.
 

Hypersmurf said:
It's a quandary, isn't it? :)

It's why I personally recommend using a modified Savage Species reach system as a house rule.

Effectively, a reach weapon shifts your natural reach by a certain amount based on its size.

A Medium reach weapon shifts your natural reach outwards by 5 feet. A human threatens one square at 5'; a human with a Medium longspear threatens one square at 10'. An ogre threatens two squares at 5' and 10'; an ogre with a Medium longspear threatens two squares at 10' and 15'.

A Large reach weapon shifts your natural reach outwards by 10 feet. An ogre with a Large longspear threatens two squares at 15' and 20'; a human Monkey-Gripping a Large longspear threatens one square at 15'.

Small reach weapons shift by 5'. Tiny reach weapons are special - they don't shift the reach of a Small or larger creature, but they allow a Tiny creature to threaten at 5' (but not in their own square).

It's not core, but it works for me... since the core rules don't really address reach weapons of inappropriate size.

-Hyp.
I just read my own quote. ::shakes head:: I really can't spell. At any rate that is an interesting way of dealing with the issue. too bad there is nothing core to explain it. However, in the interest of keeping it simple, my group will p/b go with our original interpretation(as I don't DM that often) reach being reach. truly it doesn't come up that often, now that i think about it. The more I think about it, the only time a weapon of an inappropriate size came up was when there was a large keen ghost touch flaming burst scythe- that I had to expand to large to use anyway. . . . and is not a reach weapon. so it apparently has never come up in one of my games. . . curious. oh well.[font=&quot] [/font]
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top