• The VOIDRUNNER'S CODEX is LIVE! Explore new worlds, fight oppressive empires, fend off fearsome aliens, and wield deadly psionics with this comprehensive boxed set expansion for 5E and A5E!

sons first adventure, plus dungeon mapper tool

BlindGeekUK

First Post
my 9 year old son plays a warlock in my campaign. when we started the campaign he said that one day he'd like to gm...

well, this weekend, he wrote up his first adventure, a short delve like game with undead and other monsters.

his initial attempts at drawing a map were terrible, and I remembered that when i started learning to program in my teens I built a dungeon mapper. so I went thru my backup discs and found it. attached is a screenshot of the vb3 original version, and also attached is the vb6 compiled version (vb3 doesn't compile on vista)

it's rough and limited, but I think i'm going to redo in vb.net, and apply some of my industry skills to add in a 3d render mode

Attachments

• dungeonmapper preview.png
    dungeonmapper preview.png
    57.2 KB · Views: 309
  • The keep of dreams.pdf
    9.6 KB · Views: 150
  • mapbuilder.zip
    9.8 KB · Views: 140

MadLordOfMilk

First Post
Though I much prefer hand-drawing things out, I do like the app! The simplicity of it is nice.

I took a look at the adventure, it reminds me of the game idea stuff I came up with when I was around that age. As far as helping him with map drawing, did you give him a blank sheet of paper or graph paper? Having a grid might help, though I prefer having rough sketches versus carefully-gridded maps to work with in most situations, but there's only so much winging it you can handle at 9 years old.

Maybe something like dungeon tiles might help? Though there's certainly a limiting element to it, the limiting aspect also makes things a lot easier as you get to pick from options rather than from whatever pops up in your head.

BlindGeekUK

First Post