Spring attack & charge

danant

First Post
May I use charge with Spring attack if I have movement > 30 feet? (I have a monk with 60 ft. movement).
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad

According to the Sage, yes, you can charge on a Spring Attack. Your speed has nothing to do with it. Some people think you shouldn't beable to charge on a SA, but again, your speed has nothing to do with it.
 

By the very letter of the law, no you shouldn't be able to. Spring attack is a move attack, move. Charge only allows you to move and attack, you cannot move after the attack. So you couldn't get SA.
 

Stalker0 said:
By the very letter of the law, no you shouldn't be able to. Spring attack is a move attack, move. Charge only allows you to move and attack, you cannot move after the attack. So you couldn't get SA.

I think the move attack no move mention in charge was just a reinforcement of the standard rules. Because normally even without a charge if I move up to the opponent and attack them, I can't then move. The mention in charge is just letting you know that charge isn't a dodge around the standard limitation and so no you can't get spring attack for free by just charging.
 

Spring Attack:
When using the attack action with a melee weapon, the character can move both before and after the attack, provided that the character's total distance moved is not greater than the character's speed. Moving in this way does not provoke an attack of opportunity from the defender the character attacks.

Ride-by Attack:
When the character is mounted and uses the charge action, the character may move and attack as with a standard charge and then move again (continuing the straight line of the charge). The character's total movement for the round can’t exceed double the character's mounted speed. The character does not provoke an attack of opportunity from the opponent that the character attacks.

Ride-by specifies the charge, but spring attack doesn't. Based on that, if Spring Attack was meant as a charge, it should've been included.
 

I disagree all that means to me is that ride by attack is more specific than spring attack. Which makes sense ot me since I don't think a horse(or other mount) should have the same turning abilities as a person on foot with the right feats.(IOW the rider has the feat, not the horse)
 

Charge [Full][AoO: Yes]

Description: The combatant must move before attacking, not after. The combatant must move at least 10 feet and may move up to double base speed. All movement must be in a straight line, with no backing up allowed. The charge stops as soon as the combatant threatens the target. A combatant can't run past the target and attack from another direction.

Source: SRD

If you charge, you're stuck there.
 

again that is just a reiteration of the standard rules. Lets see charge move(straight line at least 10'), you attack. No more movement.

Standard action. Move, you attack. No more movement.

I think all there doing is letting you know that a charge isn't a dodge around this. If you want to move/attack/move you need to spend some feats.
 

But a charge is a Full Attack Option.

If you use a FaO in hand-to-hand, you do not get to move afterwards, you only get a 5ft step. If you charge, that uses the entire round, you don't get to move afterwards. Springing in, attacking, and springing out is moving afterwards.
 

Ok, time to throw my hat in the ring:

First, according to my PHB (first printing) Charging does *not* provoke an AoO.

Second, Charging is a "Special" Standard Action as described in the very first line of the "Charge" section. Yes, you attack, but in the description it does not say "you perform a melee attack" action; you do not perform "an attack action". So, in my mind this would mean that the entire act of charging is a standard action, even though you attack. Thus it is "special".

Third, Spring Attack says in it's description "...when using the attack action...". OK, check out what a Charge is, it's not an attack action, it is a standard action.

So, there ya go. No spring attack with a charge.
 
Last edited:

Remove ads

Top