Shin Okada
Explorer
Help me understandingng current RAW about this issue,
From SRD,
Those sections don't say anything about the need of free hand, so
Also from SRD
In my understanding, this is the only sentence in the core rule (though SRD is not strictly a core rule) which is vaguely suggesting the need of one free hand, right? Are there any others place which is stating it clearly?
From SRD,
Material (M): A material component is one or more physical substances or objects that are annihilated by the spell energies in the casting process. Unless a cost is given for a material component, the cost is negligibleDon'tt bother to keep track of material components with negligible cost. Assume you have all you need as long as you have your spell component pouch.
Focus (F): A focus component is a prop of some sort. Unlike a material component, a focus is not consumed when the spell is cast and can be reused. As with material components, the cost for a focus is negligible unless a price is given. Assume that focus components of negligible cost are in your spell component pouch.
Those sections don't say anything about the need of free hand, so
Also from SRD
Grappling or Pinned: The only spells you can cast while grappling or pinned are those without somatic components and whose material components (if any) you have in hand. Even so, you must make a Concentration check (DC 20 + the level of the spellyou're casting) or lose the spell.
In my understanding, this is the only sentence in the core rule (though SRD is not strictly a core rule) which is vaguely suggesting the need of one free hand, right? Are there any others place which is stating it clearly?
Last edited: