Sundering a Shield? Opposed Attack Roll?


log in or register to remove this ad





Intersting side note, here's d20 Modern's take on this:

Sunder
Prerequisites: Strength 13, Power Attack.
Benefit: When the character strikes an object held or carried by an opponent, such as a weapon, the character does not provoke an attack of opportunity.
The character gains a +4 bonus on any attack roll made to attack an object held or carried by another character. The character deals double normal damage to objects, whether they are held or carried or not.
Normal: A character without this feat incurs an attack of opportunity when he or she strikes at an object held or carried by another character.

Fascinating, no? I wonder if that's what it will be in D&D ed. 3.5?
 


Actually, I think it's a stretch to think that "striking an opponent's weapon" somehow means something other than "strike a weapon" as defined in 3e D&D action, "strike a weapon."

Careful - that's the logic I use to justify my stance that a rusty longsword can break a +5 longbow... :)

-Hyp.
 

My take

I believe it has been clarified why there is a basic difference between sundering a weapon or shield, and attacking an attended object.

What it really comes down to is the defender's reaction.

When I swing a weapon at you, you are going to bring your weapon or shield up to block. What that does is open up that object to more likely contact by my attack. Thus, the sunder rules are designed with the notion that the defender is using that weapon or shield to defend themselves normally.

Striking an attended object, however, is different because said object is not used to defend against the attacker. Attacking someone's wand is more difficult because they are not going to bring it up to bear against the attacker.

That is, AFAIK, the reason for the difference in rules.

So, IMO, you can indeed Sunder a shield. This includes any feats, abilities, advantages, etc., that apply to Sundering.
 

Hypersmurf said:


Careful - that's the logic I use to justify my stance that a rusty longsword can break a +5 longbow... :)

-Hyp.

You certainly can attempt to do so. However:

Magic Weapons and Shields

The attacker cannot damage a magic weapon or shield that has an enhancement bonus unless his own weapon has at least as high an enhancement bonus as the weapon or shield struck. Each +1 of enhancement bonus also adds 1 to the weapon's or shield's hardness and hit points. If a combatant's shield has a +2 enhancement bonus, a combatant add 2 to its hardness and to its hit points.

Another easy call! :)
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top