SW SAGA EDITION: Preview 7

Donovan Morningfire said:
Both of them pretty clearly state "full-round action" and both are listed from the previews.
Actually, the second one only states "takes a full round", a subtle, but important distinction.
:)

However, the first quote, and the examples quoted by Randolpho above are fairly conclusive. Now for more rampant speculation: will a full round action still allow you to take a swift action? Probably yes, which makes a full round slightly better than 2 swifts + standard.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

gribble said:
Actually, the second one only states "takes a full round", a subtle, but important distinction.
:)

However, the first quote, and the examples quoted by Randolpho above are fairly conclusive. Now for more rampant speculation: will a full round action still allow you to take a swift action? Probably yes, which makes a full round slightly better than 2 swifts + standard.
You can take a swift action in addition to a full-round action in D&D 3.5, so I'd say likely yes. However, how do you come up with the "better" comparison? It's a bit like apples and oranges.
 

ValhallaGH said:
Sorry, didn't mean to imply that you'd been rude. As Plane Sailing pointed out, you've been very well behaved, as has just about everyone in this thread (good for us!).

What I meant, but was obviously not clear about, was that a random person skimming the thread might see a wild speculation, not notice the qualifiers if any, and run around convincing others that said speculation was truth. I hope you can understand how I might classify that as rude.

Either way, I do apologize for the confusion and (accidentally) implied insult.

As the friendly moderator has recommended, back to the speculation!

Right on, no problemo.

But I think I'm starting to run out of wild conjecture, hearsay, random musings and mad speculation!
 



Where I'm at now, is wondering how Saga will handle monsters/aliens and natural attacks?

I'm going to use the classic and humble owlbear as an example. I think that as a standard action it could attack with 1 claw at full BAB, or as a Full Round Action attack with all of its natural attacks, 2 claws and bite at BAB –5.

What do you think?



…That's right, you, the one with the funny hat!
 

Well if the Droideka in Preview #6 is anything to go by, creatures with multiple attacks of the same type would use their attack bonus. Of course, since we haven't seen one of these in play, we don't know if they'd need to expend a full-round action to use both attacks. Which could be possible, since they tend not to move very much once they open fire, and it could be argued that the rare instances of them moving and shooting was them just using one cannon (possibly w/ Rapid Shot) as an attack action and then taking a move action to scuttle along.

Not sure on cases like the owlbear, but the full-round 2 claws + bite at a -5 from standard d20 is as good a guess as any.
 

Donovan Morningfire said:
Well if the Droideka in Preview #6 is anything to go by, creatures with multiple attacks of the same type would use their attack bonus. Of course, since we haven't seen one of these in play, we don't know if they'd need to expend a full-round action to use both attacks. Which could be possible, since they tend not to move very much once they open fire, and it could be argued that the rare instances of them moving and shooting was them just using one cannon (possibly w/ Rapid Shot) as an attack action and then taking a move action to scuttle along.

Good points.

Also, the Droidekas have Dual Weapon Mastery I and II, and we don't know how those feats work yet – is it a full round action to attack with two weapons? By how much do they negate the penalties for fighting with two weapons? We also don't know what the penalties are in Saga (BAB -10?) for fighting with two-weapons/dual wielding.
 

Baby Samurai said:
Good points.

Also, the Droidekas have Dual Weapon Mastery I and II, and we don't know how those feats work yet – is it a full round action to attack with two weapons? By how much do they negate the penalties for fighting with two weapons? We also don't know what the penalties are in Saga (BAB -10?) for fighting with two-weapons/dual wielding.

There's enough circumstantial evidence from some of the mini stats to suggest that the TWF penalty is -10/-10 before being boosted by feats, IIRC.

Hope this helps,
Flynn
 

Flynn said:
There's enough circumstantial evidence from some of the mini stats to suggest that the TWF penalty is -10/-10 before being boosted by feats, IIRC.

You're right.



"Droideka Series Destroyer Droid CL 4


Large droid (4th-degree) nonheroic 12
Init +8; Senses Perception +13
Languages Basic, Binary

Defenses Ref 16 (flat-footed 14), Fort 13, Will 12
hp 40; SR 20; Threshold 18
Immune droid traits

Speed 2 squares (walking), 10 squares (wheeled)
Melee unarmed +7 (1d4+3)
Ranged 2 heavy repeating blaster cannons +10 (3d8) or
Ranged 2 heavy repeating blaster cannons +8 (4d8) with Rapid Shot or
Ranged 2 heavy repeating blaster cannons +5 (5d8) with Burst Fire

Fighting Space 2x2; Reach 1 square
Base Atk +9; Grp +17
Atk Options autofire (heavy repeating blaster cannons), Burst Fire, Rapid Shot

Abilities Str 16, Dex 15, Con --, Int 8, Wis 14, Cha 7
Feats Armor Proficiency (light), Burst Fire, Rapid Shot, Dual Weapon Mastery I, Dual Weapon Mastery II, Weapon Focus (rifles), Weapon Proficiency (heavy weapons, rifles)
Skills Perception +13, Stealth +3
Systems walking locomotion, wheeled locomotion (exclusive), remote receiver, 2 tool appendages, shield generator (SR 20), integrated comlink, bronzium shell (+5 armor; treat as quadanium plating)
Possessions 2 heavy repeating blaster cannons (treat as blaster rifles)
Availability Military; Cost 21,000 credits"



Looking at the bolded parts (by me) of the Droideka stats, I’m not sure if firing both blaster cannons is a standard action or a full round action. And as the BAB is +9, +2 from Dex 15, and –1 for size, it appears the droideka is taking no penalties for firing two blaster cannons, only a penalty when using Rapid Shot (-2) and Burst Fire (-5).

Does this mean that if you have Dual Weapon Mastery II you take no penalties when fighting with two-weapons?

…Confused.


Hey, Flynn, I miss your input over on my No Iterative Attacks in D&D thread over in the House Rules forum, care to drop by and give some juice/input?
 

Remove ads

Top