The Invasion of Mori OOC [3.5][planar][PAUSED]


log in or register to remove this ad

I'm going to need a day or two, things are really hectic and I'm also not sure how to rule something. I'd explain why I'm not sure but that would give you information . . . :uhoh:

I'll post as I'm able to.
 

moritheil said:
I'm going to need a day or two, things are really hectic and I'm also not sure how to rule something. I'd explain why I'm not sure but that would give you information . . . :uhoh:

I'll post as I'm able to.

Post in rules with warnings for your players to stay out.
 

After consideration and consultation, I don't think I want to allow possessing sections of larger objects. Sorry, but please adjust your action.

Voadam said:
Post in rules with warnings for your players to stay out.

Oops! Sorry! I usually do put a notice in the title. :(
 


So, it turns out Voidrazor was absolutely right, because of a special clause in the FoP rules that I didn't see (I don't have FF.) These sorts of situations are when it's great to have as detailed a sheet as possible, though I realize it can be awfully unwieldy to edit. :)

I'll give it another day or so for people to roll their initiatives if they want, and then I'll post.
 

Updated. I'm going to note carefully that while colossal objects may be animated, nothing says the FoP can reshape them at will. So while you can animate a colossal section of floor, it will just be a large chunk of stone that is still bonded to the surrounding stone.
 

There comes a certain time when, as a DM, you just have to stop worrying about the nitty-gritty details of RAW interactions and decide what happens. Thus, I give you rounds 1-3.
 

From a balance standpoint I'm OK with whatever limitations you feel are necessary.

As a matter of rules interpretation, I would argue that the text of FoP specifies that sections of floor can be not only possessed but animated as per Animate Object. Animate Object specifies that the target is imbued with mobility and a semblance of life as well as specifying stats, which include reach, grapple #'s, etc. So it seems to me that a floor section should be able to move independently of the rest of the floor, just as an animated statue can move from its pedastal. But even if it is rooted due to being part of a larger object, it should be able to deform enough to attack and grapple. After all, a free-standing colossal cube with Animate Object cast on it would be able to fight normally. But the cube wouldn't fly through the air. It would move at 10'/round as the stats block lists for colossal animated objects without legs or wheels.

If your ruling stands, Kaelvorr will animate the water closest to the kobold, move 10' towards him and use reach to grapple. If that's problematic, K. will possess the floor just long to get an updated view of the area and position itself, then revert to ethereal and attempt to possess the kobold (note if possession is successful it takes another action to attempt to gain physical control).
 

Voidrazor said:
From a balance standpoint I'm OK with whatever limitations you feel are necessary.

As a matter of rules interpretation, I would argue that the text of FoP specifies that sections of floor can be not only possessed but animated as per Animate Object. Animate Object specifies that the target is imbued with mobility and a semblance of life as well as specifying stats, which include reach, grapple #'s, etc. So it seems to me that a floor section should be able to move independently of the rest of the floor, just as an animated statue can move from its pedastal. But even if it is rooted due to being part of a larger object, it should be able to deform enough to attack and grapple. After all, a free-standing colossal cube with Animate Object cast on it would be able to fight normally. But the cube wouldn't fly through the air. It would move at 10'/round as the stats block lists for colossal animated objects without legs or wheels.

If your ruling stands, Kaelvorr will animate the water closest to the kobold, move 10' towards him and use reach to grapple. If that's problematic, K. will possess the floor just long to get an updated view of the area and position itself, then revert to ethereal and attempt to possess the kobold (note if possession is successful it takes another action to attempt to gain physical control).

Believe me, I thought long and hard about the implications of the animate object power, which if not very carefully defined turns into an automatic "I win." In doing this I wanted to be both fair to you as a player who spent your levels in FoP and fair to the campaign.

My conclusion was that you animate the section, but nothing states that it comes detached. You could perhaps flex and slam attack someone right above you without breaking free, but that would be about it. This ruling doesn't do anything other than reduce the speed at which you can animate new sections of bedrock when using it to smash your enemies (and reduce the speed at which you can reduce castles to rubble.)

I don't have any problem with dirt, water, etc. being shaped to your will. But animate object indicates that hinges creak, etc. Inflexible objects are still largely inflexible; they do not become infinitely malleable.

The "semblance of life" quote is misleading here for two reasons; first, for the FoP ability, YOU are that semblance of life. It's modified by what you do while possessing the object. Second, animate object does not itself allow you to possess sections, and therefore it is totally silent on the matter of what happens when you possess a section.

Also, in case you are objecting to what has happened in this particular fight, please reread my comment to you and note what happened to peoples' buffs - there are many other things going on here.

I apologize not for the content of my ruling but for its timing, as I know it sucks to find out things do not work the way you thought they did in the middle of combat. I waived the break check as a way of compensating. I did not realize that possessing sections would be an issue beforehand or I would have communicated this ruling to you sooner. As it is, you know I only saw the pertinent rules text a couple days ago.

One other thing, while I have your attention - I believe before we adjourned previously I brought up the question of whether or not you are benefiting from your items while incorporeal. I noted that ghosts have the benefit of "ghostly copies" of their gear, but an incorporeal fiend of possession is not a ghost. Do you have rules text that states that you don't have to have your items on your form, or have you done something else to address that? Please put it in a visible location on your sheet if so. Thanks!
 
Last edited:

Remove ads

Top