Threatened squares and weapons in hand

Zaruthustran said:
And remember that the additional -2 TWF penalty would only come into play when you did a full attack that used more than the one weapon.
I don't agree. If you want to make any attacks with the secondary weapon, including AoO, you need to take the TWF penalty on all attacks in the round.

You cannot make some attacks without the penalty, and then decide later that you want to bring the off-hand weapon into play. That would be like deciding to use Rapid Shot for an extra bow attack, after you already took some of your shots that round without the -2 penalty.

Even in D&D, there ain't no such thing as a free lunch.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

AuraSeer said:
You cannot make some attacks without the penalty, and then decide later that you want to bring the off-hand weapon into play.

While I would, I think, rule the same way, I can see room for debate.

Let's say I have a BAB of +6.

A. I can hit you with my longsword in my right hand at +6, and then again at +1.

B. If I hit you with my longsword in my right hand, drop it, Quickdraw a shortsword also in my right hand, and hit you with it, does that incur TWF penalties? (Note that I haven't taken any extra attacks.)

C. If I hit you with my longsword in my right hand, drop it, Quickdraw a shortsword in my left hand, and hit you with it, does that incur TWF penalties?

D. If I hit you with my longsword in my right hand, and my shortsword in my left hand, does that incur TWF penalties? (Still not taking any extra attacks, just the two I'm allowed through BAB.)

-Hyp.
 


The example about dropping a dagger each round might fall into the limit of free actions per round... As DM, I wouldn't allow two of these free actions because I assume that the char spends his full round shooting arrows.
 

Keith said:
By “wielded” we are talking about “held in the hand” in this case, just to be clear; I think there are other interpretations.

In the english language, "a weapon you are wielding" means, exactly, "a weapon you hold in your hand, in such a manner as to redily make attacks with it".

Keith said:
At the same time, the SRD in front of me does not say anything about not taking a free action as part of an AOO, and frankly the definition of free action kind of suggests otherwise to me.

Free Actions, definitionally, can only be taken during your own turn.

An Attack of Opportunity is, definitionally, taken during someone ELSE'S turn.

Thus, the two cannot be combined.
 

Pax said:
Free Actions, definitionally, can only be taken during your own turn.

An Attack of Opportunity is, definitionally, taken during someone ELSE'S turn.

Thus, the two cannot be combined.

Because that would be wrong. :cool:
 


Can you hold a dagger in your off hand and throw a dart with your other?


You'd threaten and attack, with the ranged weapon, without penalties. No?


wolfen
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top