TWF + Flurry of Blows?

0-hr

Starship Cartographer
I've read the relavent passages and it looks like the two are compatible, but I figured I'd better make sure before building the character.

Can you use Two Weapon Fighting and Flurry of Blows at the same time?
 

log in or register to remove this ad


Ki Ryn said:
I've read the relavent passages and it looks like the two are compatible, but I figured I'd better make sure before building the character.

Can you use Two Weapon Fighting and Flurry of Blows at the same time?

Yes, but two things to keep in mind from the Monk description:

1. There is no such thing as an off-hand attack for a monk striking unarmed.
2. When using flurry of blows, a monk may attack only with unarmed strikes or with special monk weapons.

-Hyp.
 

So do all of the attacks (flurry and off-hand) have to be special monk weapons, or just the off-hand one granted by TWF?

Monk: When using flurry of blows, a monk may attack only with unarmed strikes or with special monk weapons.
Monk: There is no such thing as an off-hand attack for a monk striking unarmed.
TWF: If you wield a second weapon in your off hand, you can get one extra attack per round with that weapon.

My reading of it is that the flurry can be fists while the TWF is (and must be) a special monk weapon. Is that right?
 

Ki Ryn said:
My reading of it is that the flurry can be fists while the TWF is (and must be) a special monk weapon. Is that right?

That's how I read it. The FAQ disagrees - it says that while the text states there's no such thing as an off-hand attack for a monk striking unarmed, it's okay if the monk strikes unarmed as an off-hand attack.

-Hyp.
 

Hypersmurf said:
That's how I read it. The FAQ disagrees - it says that while the text states there's no such thing as an off-hand attack for a monk striking unarmed, it's okay if the monk strikes unarmed as an off-hand attack.

-Hyp.
I thought it to mean if you're attacking with no weapon other than your body parts.

If you do have a monk weapon in your primary hand, then you should be able to make an unarmed strike as your off hand.
 

Ranger REG said:
I thought it to mean if you're attacking with no weapon other than your body parts.

If you do have a monk weapon in your primary hand, then you should be able to make an unarmed strike as your off hand.

The FAQ permits making all your Flurry-granted attacks with unarmed strike, and in addition making off-hand attacks with unarmed strike.

-Hyp.
 

As mentioned: the FAQ says you can add off-hand attacks to a flurry.
However, the recent Rules of the Game article on TWF'ing seems to say that you cannot. So do what works best for your game. The FAQ ruling is the most well known though, so your players might be expecting this to be in effect. I'm fairly certain RPGA games are still using it.

As for the "no such thing as an off-hand attack for a monk striking unarmed" text, that seems more like a red herring to me (i.e. in context, the writer's intent does not seem related to what is being discussed).
 

In my game FAQs, rules-of-the-game articles, and even "Compendiums" are ignored when they contradict the core rules and errata. Thanks for the pointers though.
 

Ki Ryn said:
In my game FAQs, rules-of-the-game articles, and even "Compendiums" are ignored when they contradict the core rules and errata.
That's certainly recommended. However most rules (including this) tend to be open to some interpretation (else we likely wouldn't be having this conversation). What one person thinks is clearly stated, others might think is ambigious (or even contra-indicated).

For discussion purposes: what parts to you believe are contradicted by the core rules? I'm not saying you are wrong (indeed, I pointed out that the FAQ and RotG even contradict each other here), I was just curious.
 
Last edited:

Remove ads

Top