D&D 5E Two Weapon Fighting Doubts

maritimo80

First Post
Two Weapon Fighting (PHB 195), says that you are with a light weapon in one hand, you being with another light weapon in the other hand can attack as Bonus Action, but without adding the bonus of force (or Dex) . But in terms of game every character is right-handed, that is the attack with his right hand is normal and the left is no bonus? Or what it is the first or second attack, where the first attack is with bonus and the second as bonus action without bonus?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

To use two weapon fighting you must have a light weapon in each hand. When you take the attack action to make a melee attack you attack normally with your main hand and then as a bonus action you may make one extra attack with your off hand. You add the bonus from strength (or dex) to your attack(s) from your main hand but not from your off hand.

If a character is right handed, his "main" hand is his right hand.
 

To use two weapon fighting you must have a light weapon in each hand. When you take the attack action to make a melee attack you attack normally with your main hand and then as a bonus action you may make one extra attack with your off hand. You add the bonus from strength (or dex) to your attack(s) from your main hand but not from your off hand.

If a character is right handed, his "main" hand is his right hand.



I do not think I explained well. I need to set your'm right-handed? Or bonus is always applied in the first attack?

You understand? 1st attack or right-handed?
 

You have a main and off hand which you can designate right or left however you like. The off-hand attack gets no bonus. You could choose to attack first with either the main hand or the off hand. Normally, people just lead with the main hand, but there are situations where you might want to use the off-hand first.

I've forgotten whether or not 'Main hand' and 'off-hand' are game terms in 5e but I think they make the twf rules clearer. They are game terms in some of the previous editions.
 

You get to pick which one has the bonus.

Logically, if your character was right-handed, the right hand should get the bonus and the left hand shouldn't, but the game doesn't make you decide that - you can pick either one, as long as you pick only one.
 

I do not think I explained well. I need to set your'm right-handed? Or bonus is always applied in the first attack?

You understand? 1st attack or right-handed?

You don't have to set a character as right handed...a character can be left handed but you do have to say what weapon is in your main hand and what is in your off hand. The bonus is applied to attacks from your main hand. They can be in any order the player wants (at least that's my opinion...as long as you are taking the attack action to make a melee attack you can use a bonus action to attack with your off hand weapon).

For example:

A left handed 5th level fighter with a shortsword in his left (main) hand and dagger in his off (or right) hand. He is 20 feet from an orc. The orc is badly wounded and there an an ogre 5 feet further. He can move up, declare he is taking the attack action and use his bonus attack to use his dagger to make his off hand attack on the orc. Let's say he hits for d4 damage, the orc dies (it only had 2 hp left). He can then move 5 feet further and attack the ogre with his main hand (or in this case left hand). He gets to attack twice (extra attack from Fighter level 5) and can even action surge to get two more attacks by using another attack action. The off-hand dagger attack can be anywhere in there.
 

Roll the 'main hand' attack first, add the relevant modifier.

Roll the 'off hand' attack second, add no modifier.

Pretend whatever you want in the meantime.
 
Last edited:

The RAW answer, as far as I can tell, is this:

Whichever weapon attack(s) you make with the ATTACK Action gets the extra damage from STR/DEX;
Whichever weapon attack you make with the BONUS Action does not.
You cannot use the same weapon for both the ATTACK Action and the BONUS Action.

There is no 'handedness' in 5E.
 

The RAW answer, as far as I can tell, is this:

Whichever weapon attack(s) you make with the ATTACK Action gets the extra damage from STR/DEX;
Whichever weapon attack you make with the BONUS Action does not.
You cannot use the same weapon for both the ATTACK Action and the BONUS Action.

There is no 'handedness' in 5E.

This. You have to pick which hand you use for the Attack action and which you use for the bonus attack. But you don't have to pick the same every time. You can Attack-action with the left hand and take your bonus attack with the right; and then, next round, Attack-action with the right hand and take your bonus attack with the left.

You can, of course, choose to always use the same hand for the Attack action, and the penalty for doing so is negligible--there are very few circumstances where it would matter. So you can be left-handed or right-handed or ambidextrous as you please. The rules treat everyone as ambidextrous.
 


Remove ads

Top