D&D 5E (2024) Using Action Surge to cast spells in 2024

I think this very much depends on the RPG in question.
Nope.
I have never seen an RPG define everything.

Show me the RPG that tells you how often your character needs to use the bathroom or get penalties.
Tell me which RPG explains how children spring into existence.

Show me the RPG that explains gravity correcty, ballistc curves, correctly.

You can't have an RPG that perfectly explains the laws of biology or physics. It won't fit in any RPG book.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

I always assumed you take the required action if you use ready. If you ready an attack, you take the attack action when the trigger occurs.
Clearly that’s the case, yes. Except in the specific case of using Ready to cast a spell, in which case there are other instructions in the text, which tell you to simply cast the spell as normal, and release it later as your Reaction.
For a spell you can just use the magic action immediately instead of when the trigger occurs.
Again, that doesn’t make any sense because you only get one Action per turn, and you’ve already used it on the Ready Action.

I think see see where the disconnect is coming from though. Because “Action” is both the name of a resource and the name of the category of thing you spend that resource on, we’re walking away with two different interpretations of what the Ready Action is doing, mechanically. You’re parsing it as Ready allowing you to you spend the action (using a lower-case a here to distinguish the resource from the thing you spend the resource to do) in response to a specified trigger, on a specified Action, rather than on your turn, at the additional cost of a reaction (again, lower case r because I’m talking about the resource).

Under the above interpretation, it makes sense that you wouldn’t think of Ready as really being an Action in and of itself, as well as why the idea that you wouldn’t have an action resource available to spend on Magic wouldn’t even occur to you, because you’re not thinking of Ready as a thing that costs an action, but as a special rule that lets you spend that resource at a nonstandard time. Likewise, the above interpretation never even occurred to me until just now, because it breaks the fundamental structure of the action economy as I understand it. It’s, like, a completely alien way of looking at the action rules to me.

The way I see it, you can’t ever spend actions (the resource) outside your own turn. The only way you can ever act off turn is with a Reaction (uppercase R here), which always has a specific trigger, and an effect you can spend your reaction (the resource) to perform when the trigger occurs. The Ready Action is a real, discrete Action, the effect of which is essentially to create a bespoke Reaction that you can only use until the start of your next turn. You spend your action on your turn to choose a trigger, and an Action, whose effects this special Reaction allow you to spend your reaction replicate. But, in the specific case of casting a spell, the Action that you normally use to do this also comes with additional restrictions and resource costs that other Actions don’t. So, the Ready Action carves out a specific exception to how it (the Ready Action) normally works. You have to “cast the spell normally,” which is to say, you have to obey the casting restrictions for the spell like those set by the required components, and you spend the additional resources at that time, the spell just doesn’t take effect yet. Then the trigger allows you to spend your reaction to “release” the spell, which is to say, choose your targets and apply the effect. At no point are you really taking the Magic Action, because the Magic Action is a completely different thing with different rules for how to resolve it. And you certainly can’t be spending your action on the Magic Action when you’ve already spent it on the Ready Action.

I think my interpretation is cleaner and more consistent with the fundamental structure of D&D 5e’s action economy. I guess that goes without saying, because if I didn’t think that, it wouldn’t be my interpretation. But, I think that might be a more nuanced way to express what I mean by saying “I think it’s RAI.” I don’t pretend to know the designers’ intent, and I do find @Seramus ’s reasoning for why they don’t think it was specifically intended to work that way convincing. It’s just that, I can’t see any way the alternative interpretation could be intended because it just… isn’t how the rules work in my understanding. It’s not so much that I think the designers went out of their way to provide a way to cast a spell with Action Surge. Rather, I think that casting a spell with the Ready Action when you use an Action Surge is a natural consequence of the system as a whole working exactly the way it’s intended to work. And I don’t imagine this is something the designers would put any effort into trying to “fix” because it isn’t really contrary to the intended design in any way that matters. You still can’t spend the action (resource) that Action Surge grants you to cast a spell. That you can use it to set up a way to use another resource to cast a spell doesn’t seem like a problem in any way. It comes at an additional cost, it eats your concentration, and it carries a risk of being disrupted, so it’s not really reproducing the thing the change to Action Surge was designed to prevent. It’s doing a different, similar, but meaningfully less powerful thing.

Now, if someone disagrees with me on how meaningful that difference is, I can completely understand that. That’s perfectly reasonable and I wouldn’t begrudge anyone ruling that this can’t be done at their table. What I object to is the assumption that a player who interprets it as I do must be “rules lawyering” to try to exploit some tricksy wording loophole. It doesn’t look like a loophole to me. It looks like the system operating smoothly and according to the way it was made to operate. That the interaction may not have been anticipated doesn’t, to me, automatically mean it must be counter to intent.

Am I making any sense?
 

So, to summarize once more, it's just horrible wording. Even without taking the rules of readying a spell specifically into account.

"You take the Ready action to wait for a particular circumstance before you act. To do so, you take this action on your turn, which lets you act by taking a Reaction before the start of your next turn.

First, you decide what perceivable circumstance will trigger your Reaction. Then, you choose the action you will take in response to that trigger, or you choose to move up to your Speed in response to it..."

The rules explicitly call Ready an action. It's an action you take on your turn. Of which you only get one. But then in response to the trigger, you get to take a different action (or non-action, in the case of movement) using your Reaction.

I mean, what?! It would have been so much easier to say something like this:

"You may choose to Ready your action (or the ability to move up to your speed). Doing so allows you to take the action as a Reaction in response to a set trigger, which must be a perceivable circumstance."

Then you can add, if you want, the special language that says "Readying a Magic Action to cast a spell requires your concentration. If you lose concentration before the trigger resolves, the spell has no effect and the spell slot is lost. If the trigger does not resolve before the start of your next turn, or you elect not to take it, the spell slot is lost."

Instead we have the rules telling us that Ready is an action (right there in the text), that to Ready a spell you have to cast the spell "normally" (which should take a separate Magic action, which you don't have access to), and the effect of the spell is resolved in response to the trigger as a Reaction.

Now people in this thread have postulated something to the effect of "No, you see, Ready isn't an action, it's just a special way to use an action"*, which makes sense, and they could have easily worded it that way, as I did above. But instead they chose to come out and call Ready an Action.

Or, alternately, that Readying a Spell is a completely different beast entirely, that uses the Magic Action and delays it's effect until your Reaction is used, despite the only evidence to support this interpretation* are the words "cast the spell normally".

**Other than common sense, but that, sadly, isn't evidence. There are plenty of examples where the people who write this game have shown a complete lack of common sense with regards to their own rules. I'm not saying, btw, that we shouldn't use common sense! We absolutely should! But it's what leads to this impasse because nobody can be positive they know what the rules are saying. Only what they believe they are/should be saying.
 

You do make sense @Charlaquin

But here's why I think it's rules-lawyery: it doesn't in any way concern itself with the fiction. Its only concern is the rules. You cast it as normal, meaning your character makes the same moves, says the same words, as if you were taking a Magic action. It's the exact same thing in the fiction. You're just waiting a bit for the release. And if you can't do all this stuff as a Magic Action, then you can't do all this stuff as a Ready Action either, because both describe the exact same thing in the fiction. So, to me, that's just playing the rules, not the game. Not the fiction. Hence, the rules-lawyery thing.

The chosen trigger is the capper: "when the ennemy move" will obviously happen, as they don't even have a way to know what trigger you've chosen, because this does'nt exist for them, in the fiction. So it's really just a way to circumvent a rule relying on nomenclature, the oh so subtle difference between the exact same thing taken as an action or as a readied action.

Choose another trigger and I would maybe change my mind. Something that exists, maybe? Like saying "Don't move or I'll fry you all?" Then there's something added. Then there's some game in there, some interesting things happening for everybody. Then it's not so rules-lawyery.
 
Last edited:

You do make sense @Charlaquin

But here's why I think it's rules-lawyery: it doesn't in any way concern itself with the fiction. Its only concern is the rules. You cast it as normal, meaning your character makes the same moves, says the same words, as if you were taking a Magic action. It's the exact same thing in the fiction. You're just waiting a bit for the release. And if you can't do all this stuff as a Magic Action, then you can't do all this stuff as a Ready Action either, because both describe the exact same thing in the fiction. So, to me, that's just playing the rules, not the game. Not the fiction. Hence, the rules-lawyery thing.

The chosen trigger is the capper: "when the ennemy move" will obviously happen, as they don't even have a way to know what trigger you've chosen, because this does'nt exist for them, in the fiction. So it's really just a way to circumvent a rule relying on nomenclature, the oh so subtle difference between the exact same thing taken as an action or as a readied action.

Choose another trigger and I would maybe change my mind. Something that exists, maybe? Like saying "Don't move or I'll fry you all?" Then there's something added. Then there's some game in there, some interesting things happening for everybody. Then it's not so rules-lawyery.
The trigger you have a problem with? I mean, that seems legitimate to me. If I'm defending my allies, it seems like "If the enemy moves, I want to Ready my movement to intercept them so they can't reach my allies" would be perfectly fine. Sure, the enemy doesn't know I'm preparing to do that, but why should they?
 

I don't have a problem with the trigger in abstracto. If someone says "I ready my attack, as soon as this guy move, I react", it's perfectly fine, because delaying is the point. I could have acted earlier, but didn't do it, maybe because I'm not sure this guy is hostile. The fiction is preserved. But I do have a problem with this trigger magically changing what my character is capable of without having any kind of reality in the fiction. I couldn't have cast this spell without it, even though it is absolutly immaterial, inconsequential. It's not even an intent because my intent is to do it anyway, but the rules forbid me to, so I find a workaround. It's purely rules-contained, without any meaning nor function in the fictional world.
 
Last edited:

I don't have a problem with the trigger in abstracto. If someone says "I ready my attack, as soon as this guy move, I react", it's perfectly fine, because delaying is the point. I could have acted earlier, but didn't do it, maybe because I'm not sure this guy is hostile. The fiction is preserved. But I do have a problem with this trigger magically changing what my character is capable of without having any kind of reality in the fiction. I couldn't have cast this spell without it, even though it is absolutly immaterial, inconsequential. It's not even an intent because my intent is to do it anyway, but the rules forbid me to, so I find a workaround. It's purely rules-contained, without any meaning nor function in the fictional world.
Ok, I think I understand your point of view. However, that brings us again to Rogues, who are explicitly allowed to Ready an attack in an attempt to use their Sneak Attack more than 1/turn. I feel that's at the very least, a very similar situation.
 

Doesn't the infamous "sneak more than one time per round" rely rather on opportunity attacks? Maybe you're thinking via the Haste spell? It would indeed be quite similar, as you can't Ready an action with Haste, so you'd have to rely on a specific ordering of your actions ("first I ready, then I attack with haste!"). In this case, my answer would be exactly the same. I don't dispute you can, by RAW, ready your Magic action without taking a Magic action, as you can first Ready an action then attack. But in my book the Rogue needs their trigger to mean something, just like in our Action Surge case. If not, it's just a clever trick to circumvent the rule. A rules-lawyery tactic.

Again, I don't dispute the rules make all this possible, I just find this kind of metatactics to be in bad taste, because the goal is clearly to circumvent an explicit limitation by a clever arrangement of rules, without doing anything special in the fiction. Apart from displaying pure system mastery, a skill I'm not really looking for, I don't see what this kind of tricks will add to my game except a lot of time spent reading rules.

But of course I don't have anything against people enjoying this, if it's to their taste. I'm simply stating my preferences, here.
 
Last edited:

@Charlaquin @ECMO3

If you're under the effect of Befuddlement, which says,

"can’t cast spells or take the Magic action"

Could you on your turn Ready to use any of the following?

Energy Bow
"Arrow of Transport. As a Magic action, you can fire one energy arrow from this weapon at a target you can see within 60 feet of yourself."

Mace of Terror
"While holding the weapon, you can take a Magic action and expend 1 charge to release a wave of terror from it."

Thunderous Greatclub
"Clap of Thunder. As a Magic action, you can strike the weapon against a hard surface to create a loud clap of thunder audible out to 300 feet. You also create a 30-foot Cone of thunderous energy.
"Earthquake. As a Magic action, you can strike the weapon against the ground to create an intense seismic disturbance in a 50-foot-radius circle centered on the point of impact."

Bead of Force
"You can take a Magic action to throw the bead up to 60 feet."

Brazier of Commanding Fire Elementals
"While you are within 5 feet of this brazier, you can take a Magic action to summon a Fire Elemental."

Since you're taking the Ready action, are you not taking the Magic action, so you could in fact Ready those even when affected by Befuddlement?
 

Clearly that’s the case, yes. Except in the specific case of using Ready to cast a spell, in which case there are other instructions in the text, which tell you to simply cast the spell as normal, and release it later as your Reaction.
Right. Instead of taking the Magic Action later to cast the spell, you are taking it during your turn as normal and releasing the spell later. At no point does it say that you are not taking the magic action. The part where you clearly take a different action is still in effect.
Again, that doesn’t make any sense because you only get one Action per turn, and you’ve already used it on the Ready Action.
Unless specifically told otherwise as is the case with Ready Action where you take the Magic Action as normal and also the Ready Action.

See post #433 for how the language would look if you cast the spell as part of the Ready Action.
 

Remove ads

Top