edit: Looks like playtest wordingCombat Traditions: There seems to be a discrepency between what is written in the Adventurer's Guide and the A5E Online Tool.
Specifically, under Combat Traditions, the A5E Online Tool has this extra text:
"When you gain access to combat maneuvers, you become proficient with a number of combat traditions equal to your proficiency bonus."
As far as I can tell, the Adventurer's Guide makes no mention of this. Is this just a typo in the A5E Tool, or do you actually gain access to more Combat Traditions as your proficiency bonus improves?
So, if it does scale, that would mean a 17th level A5E Fighter would have access to 7 out of 11 Combat Traditions (6 from proficiency bonus, and 1 if they selected an A5E fighter subclass). If they also selected the Martial Scholar feat as one of their ASI's, then they would have access to 9 out of 11 of the combat traditions.Based on the wording in your post is expect it to scale with proficiency just like hp & con mod.
It looks like this might be the offending online tools entry. That line is not in the AG457 section covering combat traditions, but I did find it in that section on page7 of the fighter playtest packet.So, if it does scale, that would mean a 17th level A5E Fighter would have access to 7 out of 11 Combat Traditions (6 from proficiency bonus, and 1 if they selected an A5E fighter subclass). If they also selected the Martial Scholar feat as one of their ASI's, then they would have access to 9 out of 11 of the combat traditions.
Not saying any of that is wrong, mind you. On the contrary, thematically-speaking it makes sense that a martial character (especially a fighter) would grow their bag of martial tricks as they grow in experience. And taking Martial Scholar does eat up a precious resource (ASI's), so there is a significant cost there. I just wasn't sure if the italicized text in my previous post was accidentally omitted from the Adventurer's Guide, or if it was accidentally added to the A5E Online Tool early on in A5E's development (like maybe that's how Combat Traditions were supposed to work in a previous build of A5E, and the text was just never removed from the Online Tool).
Since you can use your reaction whenever you want (at least in o5e... I can't find the exact rule in LU), I would say yes to both. Especially since the maneuver's description doesn't specify when you can take it, just that your pool can't be empty.Sorry, I have a lot of questions lately lol
Instinctive Counterattack (Razor's Edge Maneuver): "When your exertion pool is not empty, you can use your reaction to make a melee weapon attack."
Does this maneuver allow you to make an extra attack on your turn at the expense of your reaction? Or do you still spend your reaction on another creature's turn and make the extra attack then?
So, for example, would it allow a 7th level fighter to make 3 attacks on their turn (2 from Extra Attack and 1 from Instinctive Counterattack)? Or would that fighter simply make their two attacks as normal, then make a 3rd extra attack at any point before their next turn?