Mordenkainen's Lucubration and Rary's Mnemonic Enhancer are the exceptions. Both mess around with spell preparation which the sorcerer cannot do outside of the Arcane Preparation feat.Matafuego said:What are the exceptions? =\
Mordenkainen's Lucubration and Rary's Mnemonic Enhancer are the exceptions. Both mess around with spell preparation which the sorcerer cannot do outside of the Arcane Preparation feat.Matafuego said:What are the exceptions? =\
Actually, that differs with item type. Wands, scrolls and potions have straight costs that are exclusively based on caster level, spell level, item type, and additional costs (e.g. an additional 100 gp per identify charge). Wondrous items, rods, and rings have a straight item-based cost, which may or may not have any relationship to caster level and spell level.irdeggman said:This is for a found item and not for an item that is created. The rules for creating an item are pretty specific and based on the creator.
Thanee said:I mean with the formulas just being guidelines and all that, I think the cost for a magic item should always be the same, derived from the effect mostly, regardless of which way you get the prerequisites together.
Hypersmurf said:Maybe he's got me on Ignore?
[poke]
I give up.
-Hyp.
Thanee said:Yeah, do you think that item pricing is actually completely different between these groups, when it comes to class differences? That is, there (obviously) are differences with the wands and such, but are they also there with the wondrous items and so on?
Bye
Thanee
Thanee said:Yeah, do you think that item pricing is actually completely different between these groups, when it comes to class differences?
Wasn't the errata exactly the other way around?dcollins said:Disclaimer: This does get slightly less clear if one accepts the DMG errata erasing the fact that caster levels are fixed for non-potions/scrolls/wands.
Actually, the quoted passage doesn't say that - it makes no mention that the participating creator must be a spellcaster. Even if you wanted to read that "with each participant contributing one or more requirements" literally, contributing XP is contributing a requirement - in fact, it goes on to mention the term as "XP required."irdeggman said:No I don't. The quote from the DMG refers to cooperative creating where one character must decide who is the creator. It does not refer to creating an item for someone else - which is what I was referring to. For example a wizard crafts a special sword for his fighter liege. The rules don't address the fighter fitting into the equation at all since he can't craft a magic item in the first place.