Hmm. Could he wield two small spiked chains as one-handed weapons (probably along with oversized TWF)? It would be a -2 penalty to attack, and the damage isn't great, but the reach offers interesting possibilities.Legildur said:But you can't use a spiked chain as a double weapon..... and the OP specifically wants a two-weapon fighting build. But your other points stand.
I really don't like incurring attack penalties for using incorrectly sized weapons. But I could see how it could be useful. Personally, I've never really paid much attention to that part of the rules as it always struck me like so much cheese..... particularly builds around the use of oversized weapons - as an emergency situation, sure... but not as a long run plan.kerbarian said:Hmm. Could he wield two small spiked chains as one-handed weapons (probably along with oversized TWF)? It would be a -2 penalty to attack, and the damage isn't great, but the reach offers interesting possibilities.
Legildur said:A better proposition may be to use that exotic asian weapon from the DMG. I can't recall what it is called, but it is a chain weapon with 10ft reach that can be used one-handed (only does 1d6 damage though). It has been quoted in the last few weeks in another thread about chain weapons... but can't recall the exact topic now.
Yep, that's it (now that I have my books in front of me). Light exotic weapon (1d6/x2; slashing) that has 10ft reach and can be used against adjacent foes etc just like the spiked chain.Plane Sailing said:Kusari-gama, possibly?
This is how the (non-spiked) chain in d20 Modern works:I thought that a spiked chain could be used as a double weapon or a reach weapon, but you couldn't use it both ways in the same round. That could be a 3.0 rule or I'm remembering something wrong.
Chain: Also called the manriki-gusari, this is a simple chain with weighted ends. It can be whirled quickly, striking with hard blows from the weights. One end can also be swung to entangle an opponent.
The chain can be used either as a double weapon or as a reach weapon. A character can fight with it as if fighting with two weapons, incurring all the normal attack penalties as if using a one-handed weapon and a light weapon. In this case, the character can only strike at an adjacent opponent.
If a character uses the chain as a reach weapon, he or she can strike opponents up to 10 feet away. In addition, unlike other weapons with reach, the character can use it against an adjacent foe. In this case, the character can only use one end of the chain effectively; he or she can’t use it as a double weapon.
Because a chain can wrap around an enemy’s leg or other limb, a character can make a trip attack with it by succeeding at a melee touch attack. If the character is tripped during his or her own trip attempt, the character can drop the chain to avoid being tripped.
When using a chain, the character gets a +2 equipment bonus on his or her opposed attack roll when attempting to disarm an opponent (including the roll to avoid being disarmed if the character fails to disarm the opponent).
A character can select the Weapon Finesse feat to apply his or her Dexterity modifier instead of Strength modifier to attack rolls with a chain.
matpot said:What about 2 keen rapiers d6 damage x2 on a 15-20......
Shazman said:I thought that a spiked chain could be used as a double weapon or a reach weapon, but you couldn't use it both ways in the same round. That could be a 3.0 rule or I'm remembering something wrong.