Which PrCl would you never want in your game? (part 1 - DMG)

Which PrCl would you never want in your game?

  • Arcane Archer

    Votes: 33 9.6%
  • Arcane Trickster

    Votes: 25 7.2%
  • Archmage

    Votes: 26 7.5%
  • Assassin

    Votes: 44 12.8%
  • Blackguard

    Votes: 45 13.0%
  • Dragon Disciple

    Votes: 94 27.2%
  • Duelist

    Votes: 19 5.5%
  • Dwarven Defender

    Votes: 17 4.9%
  • Eldritch Knight

    Votes: 27 7.8%
  • Hierophant

    Votes: 34 9.9%
  • Horizon Walker

    Votes: 67 19.4%
  • Loremaster

    Votes: 26 7.5%
  • Mystic Theurge

    Votes: 70 20.3%
  • Red Wizard

    Votes: 135 39.1%
  • Shadowdancer

    Votes: 29 8.4%
  • Thaumaturgist

    Votes: 49 14.2%

DungeonMaster said:
2/ Only heighten spell changes the level of a spell. All other metamagic does not change the spell's level. The rods work on 3rd level or lower spells. Even if it takes up a 5th level slot, an empowered fireball is 3rd level.

Yeah, I'm not certain I buy that argument, though.

For instance, wands may only contain spells of 4th-level or less.

However, you can place metamagicked spells into wands, as if the spell was actually of the level it was metamagicked to.

Thus, you cannot make a wand of empowered fireball.

SRD said:
Magic Items and Metamagic Spells: With the right item creation feat, you can store a metamagic version of a spell in a scroll, potion, or wand. Level limits for potions and wands apply to the spell’s higher spell level (after the application of the metamagic feat). A character doesn’t need the metamagic feat to activate an item storing a metamagic version of a spell.

Accordingly, I'd say that there's precedent that a lesser rod of X only applies to spells cast at 3rd spell level or below after they are modified by metamagic feats. Accordingly, you can use a lesser rod of maximize on an empowered magic missile (1 + 2 = 3), but not on an empowered fireball.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

DungeonMaster said:
Wow... what a flurry of activity...
So empowered maximized fireball + quickened empowered fireball is legal using my items.

If you had 2 empowered Fireballs Up.

SRD said:
A caster may only use one metamagic rod on any given spell

DM said:
"The cohort should be equipped with gear appropriate for it's level" does NOT mean "the cohort arrives with gear" it means "you need to equip him appropriately " otherwise he's going to leave you.

No it means he arrives with equipment. Before he comes to you, he is an NPC, he is not a begger.

DM said:
The interpretation of the leadership penalty for having a familiar is extremely dubious . That would be like setting up a stronghold, staying put for a month, then getting all your followers, packing up and selling the stronghold and keeping all the followers. It's bunk. If you have a familiar you're at -2 to your cohort's effective level. He doesn't like your divided attention.

You only consult the table when attracting NEW followers. Its not a continuous thing.

Although selling your Stronghold would have a net -3 effect on your leadership. You lose the +2 and gain -1 for moving around alot. There may be other factors. Also followers are not absolutly loyal. And they can die very easily.

Also, they tend to be rather unneeded. The Cohort is the important part of the feat.

Also your Cohort only consults the leadership table when you first encounter them and gain them as a cohort. After that they gain exp.
 

Kem said:
6680, good guess. Thats half a level.
Yep. It's all of a sudden relevant?

Evoker cannot bar Divination.
My bad. Redoing. Tossing blink and shield. Now bars abjuration. Both are divine specialities. So no harm done. Picking up true-strike.

What role are you filling in the party?
Well we've got a little "shock and awe" with an extremely potent couple of rounds of utter destruction the likes of which only metamagic rods can provide.
We've got the insane defensive spells of a cleric and the defensive domain powers to make sure that "Urge" stays alive no matter what.
We've got the firepower of a mage.
Can plane shift AND teleport the party.
Can spontaneously convert my spells to healing spells.
And I can switch it up with a little preparation to go the divine-power-righteous-might-quickened-true-strike route too.
Yeah pretty much well got the bases covered. Ready to join munchy campaigns worldwide.
 


Storm Raven said:
He can only use his lesser metamagic rods a grand total of three times per day each, while the wizard/cohort can cast two spells per round all day, until they run out of spells.
And exactly how many spells is that? 2 more hmm? Or less?
 



DungeonMaster said:
Wow... what a flurry of activity...

Anyhow, all at once:

1/ I do meet the prerequisite for ioun stone crafting (as noted by Elvenshae)
2/ Only heighten spell changes the level of a spell. All other metamagic does not change the spell's level. The rods work on 3rd level or lower spells. Even if it takes up a 5th level slot, an empowered fireball is 3rd level.

Nope, they are 5th level spells for magic item purposes.

3/ I have caster level 10, not 9 from the ioun stone. I can memorize more mage armor if you "really" think it's relevant.
So empowered maximized fireball + quickened empowered fireball is legal using my items.


Actually, it isn't. You have to have a hand free to cast the spell, and you only have two hands. That means you can only have one rod in hand, and can't use both your metamagic rods at once. Second, your "rule" violates the rules concerning magic items and spells, which have been pointed out already.

4/ Luckstone to AC my bad. (fixed)
5/ I thought clerics had all the animal buffs, they don't (fixed)


There's that not knowing the rules thing again.

"The cohort should be equipped with gear appropriate for it's level" does NOT mean "the cohort arrives with gear" it means "you need to equip him appropriately " otherwise he's going to leave you.


Actually, it does, but you'd know that if you read the rules.

The interpretation of the leadership penalty for having a familiar is extremely dubious . That would be like setting up a stronghold, staying put for a month, then getting all your followers, packing up and selling the stronghold and keeping all the followers. It's bunk. If you have a familiar you're at -2 to your cohort's effective level. He doesn't like your divided attention.


Actually, it's exactly what the rules say. Once you attract the cohort, the rules for recruiting cohorts no longer apply. The rules for cohort advancement apply, and those rules don't refer to your leadership score at all.

Unlike cohorts, followers don't advance. You don't refer to the advancement tables for them, so your leadership score doesn't matter to them. In any event, I haven't even been considering the 8 1st level followers that the wizard would be entitled to, so that element doesn't matter for this discussion.
 
Last edited:


DungeonMaster said:
Yep, but he does have those you know.

Just checking. Some people are confused on this point.

DungeonMaster said:
There are rules specifically for those. These are not wands. They are the be-all and end-all metamagic rods.

Actually, if you check the rules text I quoted, it mentions every form of magic item that stores spells and has an associated level limit.

The general rule seems to be that magic items care about the effective spell level (which all metamagic feats affect), not the base spell level (which only Heighten Spell affects).
 

Remove ads

Top