Black Knight Irios
Explorer
The only effect of the [Darkness] descriptor is how it interacts with spells with the [Light] descriptor.
There possibly should be a rule that says "A spell with the Darkness descriptor can never increase the level of light in an area", or something similar... but there isn't.
So, as written, Darkness radiates shadowy illumination... which is a defined light level in the PHB.
I know that fact, but you have to admit that it sounds rather stupid, that you can "create" light(shadowy illumination) with a [Darkness] spell.
I think I'm going to house rule that, but maybe I don't...
Except Harm specifically uses the wording "causes the loss of all but 1d4 hit points[/i]. Gain is not permitted.
Whereas Darkness does not use 'darkens', 'reduces', 'decreases', or anything else. It 'radiates shadowy illumination'.
As I said it was a rather stupid assumption some friends brought up, maybe it was even from AD&D 2nd. Never mind.