Wizard Implement Help

ElectricDragon

Explorer
Does a wand master specialist wizard have to use his wand (and thus cast a spell) to gain the wand specialist encounter ability of +2 to attack rolls on his next attack? The rules say the wand must be wielded, but do not specify that the wand must be used to deliver the attack. I contend that a light or one-handed weapon in the wizard's other hand could gain this bonus. What are your thoughts?

Ciao
Dave
 

log in or register to remove this ad

doesn't make much sense. Why would specialising in one weapon give you a bonus with a completely different weapon in the other hand?
 

honestly the idea sounds cheesy (if there's some way to abuse the combo) or a bit dumb (if not). if you're right per RAW you probably found something that could use errata.
 

Even though its not the same question, I think the rule given still aplies:

If you wield a light shield, you can also hold an item as well, although you can’t attack with it. What if that item is an implement? Can you apply its implement bonus to your powers?

No. Using an implement to gain its bonuses is considered attacking with that implement. If you wield a light shield and hold an implement in the same hand, you would not get the implement enhancement bonus to your powers, but you would still benefit from any property that the implement has.
http://wizards.custhelp.com/cgi-bin...nMuc2VhcmNoX25sJnBfcGFnZT0x&p_li=&p_topview=1

In other words "wielding" means using, whether its a power, or just a basic attack. If you are not doing one of those, you are just holding it and you dont get any enhancement bonus to attack roles.
 

While a staff master gets his defense bonus equal to his Con bonus for "wielding" his staff as an immediate interrupt. Not for using a spell through it.

An orb master gets to penalize one creature's save by your Wis mod to end an effect of one of your spells whether you cast that spell this turn or not. Just "wield" the orb in one hand and attack with a weapon in the other. It is a free action.

The only difference is that wand implement masters' ability directly relates to attacks while the other implements do not. So the wand wielder must only use his ability with his spells, while the other implement users do not have that restriction. None of the other implement users need to make sure that they are actually casting a spell to use their special implement ability, why put it on wand wielders?

Cheesy or not, it is valid. Wielding means having in hand for two of the three implement users, why should it mean using for the third?


Ciao
Dave
 

ElectricDragon said:
While a staff master gets his defense bonus equal to his Con bonus for "wielding" his staff as an immediate interrupt. Not for using a spell through it.

An orb master gets to penalize one creature's save by your Wis mod to end an effect of one of your spells whether you cast that spell this turn or not. Just "wield" the orb in one hand and attack with a weapon in the other. It is a free action.

The only difference is that wand implement masters' ability directly relates to attacks while the other implements do not. So the wand wielder must only use his ability with his spells, while the other implement users do not have that restriction. None of the other implement users need to make sure that they are actually casting a spell to use their special implement ability, why put it on wand wielders?

Cheesy or not, it is valid. Wielding means having in hand for two of the three implement users, why should it mean using for the third?


Ciao
Dave
Because its directly related to an active action not a passive one. And in those cases, who says that the implements arent being used? Obviously its the staff is the item in play and not an off hand weapon, and same goes for the Orb.
 

Well an immediate interrupt comes during someone else's turn and doesn't include an attack of opportunity. So the staff is not being "wielded" by your definition (used in an attack).

The orb, on the other hand, does not require an attack yet it still must be wielded (used in an attack) by your definition.

BTW:

but you would still benefit from any property that the implement has.

This says that holding the implement in the same hand with a shield allows the implement's properties. Only "enhancement" bonuses are disallowed. Thus magical wands do not get to add their magical plus to attack and damage rolls. Properties of the wand (non-magical) are still available to use.
If you can't attack with it but its properties are still available to use what can it still do?

Ciao
Dave
 

Remove ads

Top